Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 1 of 9 (42,017 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

42017 Views, 8 Replies
02-18-2013 10:54 AM

Problem:  Installation of AutoCAD 2013 and/or its vertical products (i.e. Architecture, Mechanical, etc.) fails with error 1603 when another Autodesk 2013 Suite is already installed.

 

     Install AutoCAD® 2013 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603

 

 

AutoCAD2013fail.png

 

 

Reason:  The Autodesk installer defaults its AutoCAD verticals into the same vanilla AutoCAD folder located at C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013.  If there is already an existing AutoCAD 2013 installed and updated with additional hotfixes or service packs, subsequent vertical installations of AutoCAD 2013 from other suites will fail.

 

Recommended Installation:  If you plan to install more than one AutoCAD 2013 from different suites onto the same computer (i.e. AutoCAD 2013, Building Design Suite, Product Design Suite, etc.) it is recommended to install the products sequentially and without adding any service packs or hotfixes during the installation nor immediately after installation. 

 

By default, if there is a valid Internet connection and there is an available service pack available for the product, the Autodesk installer will include it during installation.  To avoid this, you must expand the AutoCAD 2013 (or vertical) installation options and choose the radio button labeled Do not include Service Pack(s)

 

 

AutoCAD2013.png

 

 

Once selected, you can then minimize the AutoCAD 2013 options and continue to Install the product. 

 

Repeat this process for every AutoCAD 2013 Suite that you plan on installing, ensuring that you do not install any Service Pack for any AutoCAD 2013 installation during, nor immediately after installation.  For detailed instructions on how to install your Autodesk products, you can refer to the videos listed in this Autodesk Knowledge Base article:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17546373&linkID=9240617

 

Once installation is completed for all products, you should be able to individually launch each version of AutoCAD 2013 from its respective Suite.  After you have verified installation and licensing, then you can install the appropriate service pack(s) to your AutoCAD 2013. 

 

Note:  Installing the Service Pack for one supported AutoCAD 2013 Suite will also subsequently install it for all AutoCAD 2013 products installed into that folder.  Please see the Readme for the Service Pack that you are installing to ensure that all of your products are up-to-date. 

 

You can find the latest Service Packs for your AutoCAD 2013 products at the following Autodesk support page:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=9240618#section1

 

 

Additional Information:  If you already have AutoCAD 2013 or vertical installed and updated with hotfixes or service packs, then you will need to do the following to install additional Suites:

 

  1.  Uninstall the product and reinstall it without adding Service Packs, and/or...
  2.  Change the installation directory from C:\Program Files\Autodesk to an entirely different folder and/or drive letter. 

 

If your installation is failing 1603 due to a failure installing a prerequisite program (i.e. Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable) then see my article here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Some-Products-Fail-to-Install-Result-1603/td-p/...

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

For more information on uninstalling Autodesk products or prerequisite programs prior to installation, please see the following links:

 

To Diagnose and Fix installation problems automatically, please see the new Microsoft tool for this here:

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall

 

The Autodesk KB Support article concerning the clean uninstall of Autodesk products:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617


.NET Framework issues can be resolved using the .NET Framework Cleanup Tool. More information about this tool can be found at my discussion thread here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/NET-Framework-Cleanup-Tool-for-Unhandled-Exception-Errors/td-p/3079002

 

 

For additional information, please consider using Search to assist in your resolution:

Search Autodesk.com

Search Autodesk Discussion Groups

Search Up and Ready Blog

Search Autodesk WikiHelp

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 9 (42,010 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

02-18-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: TravisNave

For more information on uninstalling Autodesk products or prerequisite programs prior to installation, please see the following links:

 

To Diagnose and Fix installation problems automatically, please see the new Microsoft tool for this here:

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall

 

The Autodesk KB Support article concerning the clean uninstall of Autodesk products:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617


.NET Framework issues can be resolved using the .NET Framework Cleanup Tool. More information about this tool can be found at my discussion thread here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/NET-Framework-Cleanup-Tool-for-Unhandled-Except...

 

 

For additional information, please consider using Search to assist in your resolution:

Search Autodesk.com

Search Autodesk Discussion Groups

Search Up and Ready Blog

Search Autodesk WikiHelp

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
j.feeke
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2013
Message 3 of 9 (39,732 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

04-28-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: TravisNave

But how to change the defautlt installation folder, since it's greyed out?

http://www.nijburg-klimaattechniek.nl
Active Member
guylain
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 4 of 9 (39,088 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

05-09-2013 09:36 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi, I see that as a band-aid solution, but is there a permanent solution for this issue?

 

In the past I always created deployments with silent installs which included the service packs, after the installation was done, the client was ready to go without taking too much of my time.

 

 

I am installing almost the complete Education Master Suite 2013 on many different computers(some imaging but also different computer models).  If I do my installations this way, it will be time consuming to do all my installs, then update each of the softwares one by one.  Once done, start on the next one....  Is there a fix on the way for this or are we up the creek without a paddle?:smileysad:

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 9 (39,083 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

05-09-2013 10:11 AM in reply to: guylain
The one Service Pack will suffice for all verticals.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
bernielippold8953
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 9 (38,579 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

05-18-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I am having problems installing Design Suite Premium 2013.  I initially installed Design Suite on clean computer and it installed fine.  Then I trired to install Autocad Architecture 2013 and it would not allow me.  I read isssues regarding suites and stand alone installations so I uninstalled suite.  I then installed Autocad Architecture 2013, everything fine.  I also installed Autodesk Civil 3D 2013, everything fine.  Now try to install Design Suite again, and installation fails.

 

I am new Autocad user, so I don't understand all the tricks for installations.

 

Attahed is installation log:

 

2013/5/18:07:24:51 Bernie LENOVO === Setup started on LENOVO by Bernie === 2013/5/18:07:24:51 Bernie LENOVO Launch 2013/5/18:07:25:07 Bernie LENOVO === Setup ended ===

2013/5/18:07:24:54 Bernie LENOVO === Setup started on LENOVO by Bernie === 2013/5/18:07:24:54 Bernie LENOVO Launch 2013/5/18:07:25:07 Bernie LENOVO PageOpen LaunchDialog   2013/5/18:07:25:10 Bernie LENOVO PageOpen LicenseDialog   2013/5/18:07:25:13 Bernie LENOVO PageOpen ProductInfoDialog   2013/5/18:07:27:58 Bernie LENOVO PageOpen ProductSelectionDialog2   2013/5/18:11:14:11 Bernie LENOVO PageOpen FullProgressDialog   2013/5/18:11:14:11 Bernie LENOVO Installing DirectX Runtime: D:\3rdParty\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe /silent 2013/5/18:11:16:08 Bernie LENOVO Install DirectX Runtime Succeeded  2013/5/18:11:16:11 Bernie LENOVO Installing AutoCAD® 2013:  TRANSFORMS="D:\x64\en-us\acad\acad.mst;C:\Users\Bernie\AppData\Local\Temp\_AIDC5F.tmp\x64\acad\acad-standalone.mst" ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 MUILANG=en-us ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="D:\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

 2013/5/18:11:18:38 Bernie LENOVO Install AutoCAD® 2013 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603 2013/5/18:11:18:38 Bernie LENOVO Rollback DirectX Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=1619

 

I have Lenovo Thinkstation S30 workstation, Win7 64bit OS, Xeon CPU E5-1603 @ 2.80 GHz, currently 4 GB RAM

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 9 (38,564 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

05-18-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: bernielippold8953
During your install options you have to choose not to include the service
packs. Start over.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
sheriadietz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2014
Message 8 of 9 (15,155 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

02-08-2014 01:03 PM in reply to: TravisNave

I have been trying to instal Inventor (student version) but keep getting a failed instilation. It wont get past the low resolution image files. I already have auto cad (student version) installed from last year. I have another hard drive installed on my computer, should i try installing it on the other drive, if so how do i do that? Or how can i get it past the low res. image files on the instilation process?

New Member
helpdesk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 9 of 9 (14,964 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013 Suite failed installation aborted, result=1603

02-10-2014 12:37 PM in reply to: sheriadietz
Hello,

Can you stop by our campus in Sudbury so we can help you out with this issue? If not, we can also remotely connect to your computer and try to resolve the issue that way.

Thank you.

Martin Roy

Technologue - CIT
tél. 705-560-6673, poste 3015
Sudbury Ontario


COLLEGEBOREAL.CA [cid:image506b86.PNG@83116190.49badcd6] [cid:image9ce428.PNG@690b73e8.4583b4da] [cid:image489767.PNG@191f4fb8.45803e56]
[cid:imaged18e85.PNG@84d7d9c8.46a99387] [cid:imaged69a14.PNG@b57d6eba.47abf9f6]
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.