Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
kchilders78
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 1 of 13 (11,415 Views)

AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

11415 Views, 12 Replies
05-26-2011 02:50 PM

My problem is that everytime I launch AutoCAD 2012 I get an error message stating that "AutoCAD requires a 1024 X 768 resolution or higher" (or something to that effect) and when it loads, AutoCAD is not properly sized to fit my screen.  It has some giant sized control tabs across the top and a very small working area.  Maximizing it causes about half of the program window to be lost off the side of my screen, and manually dragging the edges of the window to size it doesn't help.  Basically, it's unusable right now.

 

My specs are:

 

42" 1080p screen (16:9)

Windows 7 64-bit

AMD Phenom II X2 3.2 GHz

6 GB RAM

ATI Radeon HD 5770 w/ 1GB video RAM

 

Does anyone know what's wrong or how to fix it?  Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 13 (11,412 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

05-26-2011 03:00 PM in reply to: kchilders78

What is your screen resolution set to?  

New Member
kchilders78
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 3 of 13 (11,376 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

06-02-2011 05:52 PM in reply to: TravisNave
1920 X 1080
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 13 (11,362 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

06-03-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: kchilders78

That *should* work.  You might as a test just set your resolution to 1024x768 (though it will look terrible on your display) then launch AutoCAD successfully.  At that point, change your resolution back and see if it continues to work.  Good luck! 

 

Edit:  I also tried searching for a certified and tested driver for your video card and setup, and this is what was displayed from Autodesk:

 

The combination of your selections is either not supported or has not been tested by Autodesk.

New Member
asayyar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 5 of 13 (11,089 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

09-06-2011 10:56 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Having the same problem with 2012 LT version ! using win7, 64-bit. tried lowering the screen resolution but it doesn't work. there was no error while installing thou. when I hit any of top- tabs ( Open;for instance) the reolution of pop up seems to be correct!

when i try :Right click>options> "Use large buttons for toolbar" checked or unchecked, their sizes are the same!!!

 

Any clue?

 

asayyar. 

New Member
asayyar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 6 of 13 (11,072 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

09-07-2011 02:47 PM in reply to: asayyar

One Soultion:

as a try, I changed the Monitor's color ( in Right click or Display>screen resolution> Monitor Tab>colors) from 32bit to 16 and it looks much better. even thought i have to do it each time I open CAD.

 

Distinguished Contributor
dlhartley
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Message 7 of 13 (10,997 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

09-19-2011 01:34 PM in reply to: asayyar

I'm having the same problem with this system:

It makes AutoCAD too big to fit on the screen, with giant icons,looking like it's at a very low resolution

 

AutoCAD 2012

Windows 7 64 bit

i3 Intel processor

8gb RAM

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 video

24" monitor at 1680 x 1050 resolution

 

Same message "Error Aborting-  AutoCAD requires 1024 x 758 to run...

 

David

 

 

New Member
clarivel.campa001
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Message 8 of 13 (10,811 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

10-21-2011 07:45 AM in reply to: kchilders78

Hi there.

 

I hope I'm not too late to help you.  I just downloaded it and had the same problem.  But upon searching in the "help feature" in the pogram itself, it suggests that you may need to change the DPI to 96% on your computer setting.  I wasn't sure where I could find that, but after searching in my main "start" window, it led me right to it.   After I did it on mine, it turned out fine.  With the exception that the font and letters are way too small for my eyesight.  What I did to compensate that in my case is that I turned on the magnifying glass in my computer setting, so that whatever area my mouse hovers over is enlarged. 

 

Hope this helps.:womanhappy:

Valued Contributor
jberns
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 9 of 13 (10,218 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

02-09-2012 02:12 PM in reply to: clarivel.campa001

Folks,
 
I just completed a support ticket for which a client reported the error, “AutoCAD requires 1024 by 768 resolution or higher to run”. The graphics card meets the system requirements, but Windows Display Magnification was set to 150%.

 

Once we changed Display Magnification to 100%, the error did not appear when starting AutoCAD.


To change the setting in Windows 7:

  1. Close all applications; a log-off will be required
  2. RMB on the desktop > Personalize > Display (lower corner of dialog box)
  3. Select Smaller - 100% > Apply > Log off now
  4. Login and test AutoCAD

I hope this information was helpful.

 

Best regards,

Jerry

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Certified Instructor
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
New Member
rjjvirusx
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2012
Message 10 of 13 (9,708 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 resolution problems

04-08-2012 08:43 PM in reply to: kchilders78
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
:smileyhappy:Thank God and Thank you ~ the problem made me crazy....

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.