Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
sboomer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2004
Message 1 of 3 (729 Views)
Accepted Solution

Auotcad 2012 Error 1609 and Restricted User

729 Views, 2 Replies
12-02-2011 04:34 PM

If installed as local administrator, do not start it up once to test it. If you did, run the repair, and don't start it up. Log back into restricted user and Autocad 2012 should load no errors....

 

Only posting this, as I could not find it listed and would put it here for someone else who runs into the same.

The issue was never a problem under the administrator account, it was a issue under a new network or restricted local user.

 

What resolved it was running the repair imediatly before prepairing my image via altiris.

 

After that clients were able to load the basica autocad setup under new accounts.

 

I think the issue is stemming from a first run under administrator account locking those options under that admin account. When you run the repair it removes all those first time setup files, or so I assume, allowing other users to pull that data.

 

This is more a sysprep related issue than anything, as when we sysprep we take the locally setup admin account and use it to create the default profile, because it was launched once under administrator, the path to default directories still probably point at the users AppData folder which prevents other users from accessing the data, that our non admins. This is most likely why the repair fixes it.

 

Cheers!

Product Support
anil.choudhary
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-30-2006
Message 2 of 3 (706 Views)

Re: Auotcad 2012 Error 1609 and Restricted User

12-05-2011 09:25 PM in reply to: sboomer

Can you create a New local administrator windows profile and start Autocad, let me know if you are able to run AutoCAD 2012.

 

If you are still having problem running Autocad in Administrator account, can you post the install log files for us to take a look at it.

1. Open Windows Explorer.

2. Type %temp% in the address bar, then press enter.

3. Look for files with names like:

 

          <Productname> Install.log

          <Productname> Install_en-us.log

          <Productname> Setup.log

Also, please include screen shots of the error dialog box.

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!






Anil Choudhary
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
sboomer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2004
Message 3 of 3 (696 Views)

Re: Auotcad 2012 Error 1609 and Restricted User

12-07-2011 10:48 AM in reply to: sboomer

The issue was never a problem under the administrator account, it was a issue under a new network or restricted local user.

 

What resolved it was running the repair imediatly before prepairing my image via altiris.

 

After that clients were able to load the basica autocad setup under new accounts.

 

I think the issue is stemming from a first run under administrator account locking those options under that admin account. When you run the repair it removes all those first time setup files, or so I assume, allowing other users to pull that data.

 

This is more a sysprep related issue than anything, as when we sysprep we take the locally setup admin account and use it to create the default profile, because it was launched once under administrator, the path to default directories still probably point at the users AppData folder which prevents other users from accessing the data, that our non admins. This is most likely why the repair fixes it.

 

Cheers!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.