Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
VampX
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 1 of 6 (669 Views)

Another licensing issue

669 Views, 5 Replies
05-12-2010 06:43 PM
Hi there,

Ill keep it brief.

The Situation:
Network license run on linux server
Maya 2010 client side Windows XP
Starting up Maya 2010 error received when trying to find network license:

A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager
Error [-15.570.10035]

Then a further screen pops up with:
A license related problem has occurred.
[-12]

Verified the license manager is running.
No other errors received from any other machines, just this one.

I am very new to this company and very new to the AutoDesk Maya environment. Considering there was absolutely no documentation around when I came on board I think I'm doing very well, setting aside this issue.

All help greatly appreciated.

V
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (667 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 07:49 AM in reply to: VampX
-12 Invalid returned data from license server system.
Did you follow the Autodesk directions on setting up the NLM on a Linux server?
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
VampX
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 3 of 6 (667 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 04:37 PM in reply to: VampX
Unfortunately I wasn't the one who set it up. I shall have a look at it again though. Anything I need to be aware of? Funny that only one client is receiving the error whereas the others aren't. Network license is for 10.
New Member
phcaduser
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 6 (668 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 06:24 PM in reply to: VampX
hi travis, what if i bought an autocad software in singapore and it was not used, can i legally use it in my office in the Philippines?
Valued Contributor
ssadat
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎01-06-2010
Message 5 of 6 (668 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 10:04 PM in reply to: VampX
ping the server from client machine.check it is pinging?and when u run the autocad on client machine when it asked the server name enter the ip address not the server name and then try.
Member
VampX
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 6 of 6 (668 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 10:07 PM in reply to: VampX
Ok,

I've resolved this issue. Turns out the server daemon was actually listening on port 7112 and *not* 7111 - as the client is configured to send requests on.
Once I changed that it all loaded and didn't complain once. However, I am still in the dark as to how the others with exactly the same .dat file can be obtaining licenses.
Hmm.

I should have stated it was a multi license server machine too.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.