Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,305
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 1 of 6 (189 Views)

6 Core processors

189 Views, 5 Replies
11-20-2013 07:28 AM

This may not be the right spot for this, but is anyone runninf Autodesk products on 6 core processors?  And if so, are there any known issues other than the fact that most Adesk products don't fully utilize more than a couple processors?  We're spec'ing new workstations, and finding that the new Quad cores are actually slower than our current Zeon's.  Must be trying to push people to the 6 core.....

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (182 Views)

Re: 6 Core processors

11-20-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: cbenner

Chris,

 

Like you mentioned, the product doesn't really seem to utilize the multiple cores but that has generally always been the case.  I have run it on multi-core without any significant improvement.  Granted, the OS as a whole will work better so there is some benefit even if it is not to the application itself.  I suppose you could manually work the affinity so certain less used cores are more dedicated to the Autodesk app.  Just my 2 cents. 

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,305
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 6 (169 Views)

Re: 6 Core processors

11-20-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks Travis, we currently run Quads, and have no real issues.  It does help when you have 8 things open at one time and do a lot of multi tasking.  I was more worried about these new 6 cores... if there were any known problems with Inventor or Vault.... compatibility wise.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (167 Views)

Re: 6 Core processors

11-20-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: cbenner

Honestly, I can't imagine there is.  Just like when processors went to dual and quad, Inventor never really even knew the difference.  I say go throw inventor.exe on CPU5 and see how it behaves.  :smileyvery-happy:

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,305
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 5 of 6 (160 Views)

Re: 6 Core processors

11-20-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I think I'm going to go that route just for the clock speed.  Our IT dude told me that the new Quads are actually slower than the 6 or 8 cores.  Under 3GHz!  That won't cutit with IV and Vault both running at the same time PLUS Acad and Excel and our ERP and CRM and Sharepoint..... not to mention being in the forums all day!  Have to have my priorities.

 

Thanks for the input Travis... see you in Vegas?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (158 Views)

Re: 6 Core processors

11-20-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: cbenner

Dude, I wish I was going this year.  Haven't been since 2010.  Maybe next year. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.