Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
a2ksupport
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-24-2006
Message 1 of 4 (134 Views)

[17271] - Network Licensing Cascading Question

134 Views, 3 Replies
07-29-2013 11:56 PM

Background information:

a network licence file that contains point products for AutoCAD and Raster Design.  It also contains an Infrastructure suite licence.  Products are 2012 version licence file is for 2014 versions.

 

Issue:

If we have AutoCAD with Raster Design installed and we start AutoCAD (not Raster Design) rather than pulling an AutoCAD Licence, it will pull an Infrastructure suite licence.

 

Possible causes:

1.  order of licences in the licence file

2.  starting AutoCAD also wants to launch Raster therefore consuming one Suite licence is "better than" consuming two point product licences

 

Question:

Has anybody else experienced this? Is there any known issues surrounding this?  Is there anyway to resolve this?

_____________________________
A2K Technologies Support Team
www.a2ktechnologies.com.au

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: [17271] - Network Licensing Cascading Question

07-30-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: a2ksupport

The cascading in the 2012 release was kinda wonky.  But a lot of that has been addressed in the latest release.  In your combined license file, are all the products generated on the same date?  That is item #1 when it comes to combining for cascading. Otherwise the newest will supersede the oldest.

 

Make sure your status enquiry shows all licenses are available. 

 

I typically do recommend that your license order should start with your lowest cost seats first.  Even though it shouldn't matter, we typically find that it often does.

 

Edit:  Darren, was there a hotfix for IDS on this?  Or am I remembering wrong?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 4 (113 Views)

Re: [17271] - Network Licensing Cascading Question

07-30-2013 08:00 AM in reply to: TravisNave

the fix was for civil 3d 2012 and Infrastructure Design Suite 2012

i am going to agree this might be because of the licenses were not generated on the same day

go here: http://www.licenseparser.com/

and run your combined license through it and that will determine if they were generated on the same day

Contributor
a2ksupport
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-24-2006
Message 4 of 4 (106 Views)

Re: [17271] - Network Licensing Cascading Question

07-30-2013 04:04 PM in reply to: a2ksupport

OK I'm quitely confident that the date requested will be the same. The order listed in the licence file I'm unsure of.  And yes I'm sure if they were using 2013 or 2014 products it wouldn't be an issue.  We have replace the Infrastructure Suite with a point licence in the mean time.

_____________________________
A2K Technologies Support Team
www.a2ktechnologies.com.au

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.