Softimage Forum (Read Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Softimage Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Softimage topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Startup Crash with Vista 64

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
lednuzb
654 Views, 11 Replies

Startup Crash with Vista 64

So, I'm pretty new to XSI, and I am really enjoying what I am seeing. Unfortunately, every time I start XSI, it says "Improper exit detected. Try to recover?" I click no to load the default project with a blank scene. After doing that, it begins to load again, loading some of the UI, but then stops and says "Softimage XSI has stopped working" and I have to close the program. I have gone through the support page on the Wiki with startup problems (runonce.bat, video driver, changing "View Manager" to "explorer"), and nothing has helped. The only way that I can get it to load is to delete my Softimage folder under C:\Users\Name\Softimage. Then it works maybe 50% of the time. But once it does load, I get into this vicious cycle again.

Is anyone else having this problem? I have done everything I possibly know how to do to no avail, and can't continue the project I was working on. Each time I have to delete the User folder, I loose my keymapping, mouse prefs, everything.

This is with 7.0 and 7.01

System Specs:
HP dv9700t Laptop
NVidia Geforce 8600 GS 512 MB - forceware version 174.32 (This is the NVidia driver from HP, I also tried the newest driver from LaptopVideo2go.com, it wouldn't recognize my card)
DX10
4GB Ram
Vista Home Premium 64

This machine runs all other 3D apps perfectly (Modo, Maya 2009 64, Blender, ZBrush, Mudbox 2009, etc)
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: lednuzb