Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading my comptuer... more hardware or less software?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
135 Views, 4 Replies

Upgrading my comptuer... more hardware or less software?

Hello Fellows, first of all, I must admit I'm kind of new to this, I've been playing with 3DS Max 2009 for a while now, and I have some questions regarding hardware and OS. First of all let me tell you what my computer is made out of:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Intel Motherboard
NVidia GeForce 8500 GT 256MB
8 GB of RAM DDR2 667Mhz
320 Samsung HardDrive 7200RPM.
and so on...

I've installed Vista Ultimate 64b and everything is running smoothly but it seems that my rendering times are not improving dramatically after building this rig... I used to have an Athlon x2 whit 2gb of RAM rurning XP Pro...and it didn't change all that much.

I'm currently using VRay 1.5 SP2 as a rendering engine and I'm thinking that there might be some setting up issues here, since I can't find a way to improve the rendering times and a full detailed (high res) render takes anything between 1.5 to 9 hours, i was wondering... am I missing something?
Is it an OS related issue? should I go back and install XP 64b?
The other question is... would my rendering times get lower if I purchased a NVidia Quadro FX370 (256MB) ? that is really all I can afford right now and where I live it's around 240 bucks... so it dosn't come cheap and I don't wan't to waste all my money... can you experts give me some kind of advise? if you could elaborate on this particular matter I'd be more than glad!

Thank you for your time!!!
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
dongray
in reply to: Anonymous