Area :: Header
Now available for Desktop Subscription customers!
Smoke 2015 Extension 1 brings the LUT Editor and Matchbox to the timeline.
Discussion Groups

Installation - Hardware - OS

Reply
New Member
PortzMonkey
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

18338 Views, 52 Replies
06-16-2009 01:57 PM
Hey I'm new to the software and to the forum. At first everything was working smoothly and I was going through the tutorials like crazy. The next thing I know I try to re open 3ds max 2010 and I receive this message. As of the moment I'm using the trial and I want to upgrade but I need to make sure that the software is going to work alright before I spend this amount of money.
I sent a message to Autodesk and they redirected me here. So any help would be appreciated. Thanks and I can't wait until my skills are good enough to match some of the stuff I'm already seeing.

- Andrew
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 19,049
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

06-16-2009 02:22 PM in reply to: PortzMonkey
Moved to Installation/Hardware/OS as it also covers Licensing and it therefore more appropriate.

"Checkout" implies Network Licensing which wouldn't normally be used with the trial AFAIK.

Can you post a screenshot of the error please?

If you get no further responses in a day or so I'll PM someone who should (hopefully) be able to help.

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
cy_shuster
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎10-28-2002

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

06-17-2009 10:49 AM in reply to: PortzMonkey
The message you posted is not one you should see on the startup of the trial. The trial is a "standalone" license, locked to one PC (although you can move it). You can also purchase a "network" license which is shareable among users on a network. "Checking out" is a feature of the network license, by which you can take it home and use it offline.

Welcome to the forum, by the way! Please review the forum rules. You'll get the best results by posting details of your error message, the steps you took to get it, and a summary of your environment (OS, graphics card, etc.) such as you'll find in typical posts.

The trial is a full, uncrippled version of the product, so if you make certain key changes in your setup, you may confuse the software into thinking it's running on a different PC (it's very hard in software to detect what the outside of the case looks like!). Changing your boot drive is one of those changes.

--Cy--
Please use plain text.
Active Member
jrom
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

07-21-2009 02:35 PM in reply to: cy_shuster
Help!!

I have the same problem. I got 3DS Max about a week ago and I am loving it. Today I tried to start Max up but it got the same error.

Thanks!


Edit:

Oops! sorry, I'm new, didn't know how the forum worked here ;)
Please use plain text.
Active Member
jrom
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

07-22-2009 08:10 PM in reply to: PortzMonkey
I reinstalled Max, that solved the problem for me.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
hardin
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎08-30-2007

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

08-27-2009 03:32 PM in reply to: jrom
Didn't work for me. I'm getting the same statement but with Error 2. MAX 2009 will fire up just fine, 2010 gets the error.
We're running a network license of MAX Design on several machines. Both 2009 and 2010 fire up fine on the 32 bit XP machines. MAX 2010 gets the error only on the 64bit Vista machine. It's been working fine for months. Worked fine Friday. Tuesday I started getting the error. I applied patches, hot fixes, un installed, re installed, etc. I still get it. I've gotten both Error 2 and Error 20. I've even shut down and restarted the license server.
Please use plain text.
Member
ronxmckernan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-09-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

10-09-2009 08:59 AM in reply to: PortzMonkey
Having the exact same problem on Win7 x64, and posted in this thread:

http://area.autodesk.com/forum/autodesk-3ds-max/installation---hardware---os/error-20/

Were you able to solve this problem and get MAX working again???
Please use plain text.
New Member
skieth_cradios
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

10-12-2009 03:07 PM in reply to: PortzMonkey
I wanted to bump this thread because it seems I can't find any answers anywhere on the net. this and like one other site (which was a bootleg download site) was the only site I could find even mention of this error. I'm a student at an artinstitute and I'm in dire need of getting max 10 to work on my computer because max 10 isn't backwards compatible *(go figure) with 9. If I can't get max 10 to work I can't even work at my home without doing the whole annoying export as OBJ. So if anyone could please take this question seriously and explain what's wrong with our computers, I'd greatly appreciate it so I can get back to work at school.
Please use plain text.
New Member
drewdudemn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

10-15-2009 01:16 PM in reply to: PortzMonkey
yeah I have the same problem....

"the software license check out failed, Error 2"

3ds max design 2010 64 (sp1 with lastest hotfix) network license
WinXP Pro 64, 8gb, Intel Xeons X5355, Quadro FX 3500

3ds max design 2009 64 works fine on the same machine...

isn't there a log or some way to determine what this error is?
Please use plain text.
New Member
drewdudemn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

10-26-2009 06:39 AM in reply to: PortzMonkey
Our IT guys figured it out... My problem was "Software license check out failed, Error 2"

Here is what they did to resolve it:

There is a file in the ADLM directory under ALL USERS\application data\Autodesk\ADLM called Cascadeinfo.CAS that can get corrupted. Renaming this file caused a new one to get created and Max fired right up. You can look it up on the autodesk site about cascadeinfo errors. There was a .CPP file that could not be read in the adlm log under my profile and when I typed that into Google it lead me to an article on the cascade errors.

Hope this helps you guys!
Please use plain text.