Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

68 REPLIES 68
SOLVED
Message 1 of 69
Anonymous
104700 Views, 68 Replies

The Software License Checkout Failed. Error 20

Hey I'm new to the software and to the forum. At first everything was working smoothly and I was going through the tutorials like crazy. The next thing I know I try to re open 3ds max 2010 and I receive this message. As of the moment I'm using the trial and I want to upgrade but I need to make sure that the software is going to work alright before I spend this amount of money.
I sent a message to Autodesk and they redirected me here. So any help would be appreciated. Thanks and I can't wait until my skills are good enough to match some of the stuff I'm already seeing.

- Andrew
68 REPLIES 68
Message 2 of 69
Steve_Curley
in reply to: Anonymous

Moved to Installation/Hardware/OS as it also covers Licensing and it therefore more appropriate.

"Checkout" implies Network Licensing which wouldn't normally be used with the trial AFAIK.

Can you post a screenshot of the error please?

If you get no further responses in a day or so I'll PM someone who should (hopefully) be able to help.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 3 of 69
cy_shuster

The message you posted is not one you should see on the startup of the trial. The trial is a "standalone" license, locked to one PC (although you can move it). You can also purchase a "network" license which is shareable among users on a network. "Checking out" is a feature of the network license, by which you can take it home and use it offline.