Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya crashes on startup - Windows 7

19 REPLIES 19
SOLVED
Message 1 of 20
Russter11
15046 Views, 19 Replies

Maya crashes on startup - Windows 7

Hi,

I've been running Maya on my MacBook Pro for a couple of years now with no problems. I recently built a PC, which runs everything great, except for Maya (I've tried 2014 and 2013). It crashes as soon as it opens, with no error messages other than "Fatal Error, attemtping to save in..." Below are my system specs:

Windows 64-bit Professional
Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core
GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H Intel Motherboard

This should meet all of the requirements, however my Video Card is not listed under Autodesk's list of recommended ones (The card was released only a month ago). I'm wondering if this, or the driver that runs it, is the problem. So far I've made sure all of my drivers and Windows are up to date, I've uninstalled and reinstalled Maya a number of times, and have even reinstalled Windows. Still no luck. The first few lines of my crash report reads:

Exception code: C0000005: ACCESS_VIOLATION - illegal read at address 0x00000000
Fault address:  FAB58BDC in C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\CoProcManager\nvd3d9wrapx.dll
0001:00007BDC Logical offset (see .map file for location)

I'm not too well-versed at how the back-end of software works, but it seems like the nvidia driver is the culprit here. My only other suspicion is that I am still running the 30-day trial of Windows 7, so it has not been activated yet, but I wouldn't think that has anything to do with this.