Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya 2015 Mental Ray batch render stopping unexpectedly (Maya 2015)

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
hunter-reynolds
7474 Views, 13 Replies

Maya 2015 Mental Ray batch render stopping unexpectedly (Maya 2015)

Hello I am a student using Maya 2015 under the Educational 3-year liscense. I have been using it for several months with no issues, but I am having trouble with mental ray's batch renderer.

As stated in 1 other forum post, Here, when the render settings are completed and you go to "Batch render", the script editor shows progress on several frames, which are all completed. Then it suddenly stops, without any warning, and no matter how much time is spent, it will not render any more frames. There are no errors in the script editor.

I know that this is not an issue with my computer's stats, for I have the late 2013 IMac:

Processor  3.2 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory  8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics  NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB

Software  OS X 10.9.4

This seems to occur any time that mental ray is used to batch render. from the simplest animations to my current 3d tracking, shading, lighting text project

I have added attachments of the script editor window and the render settings:

Please please please help me! I dont know what's going wrong, and I can't render any of my videos and animations until I find a solution!!

Thanks in advance,

Hunter

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14

Hello,

There is a known issue where Maya batch rendering with Mental Ray will hang on MAC OS 10.9. This does not happen on OS 10.8, or other platforms and seems to be specific to Mavericks. Basically the Mental Ray batch render will hang, generally at random.