Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Invalid Host Identifier when installing license

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
1339 Views, 8 Replies

Invalid Host Identifier when installing license

I'm a student who just purchased the student version of Maya 2009 and am on a MacBook Pro with OS X 10.5.6. I was taken to the registration/activation website to generate a license with my serial number from the DVD case. After copying and pasting the license text info into the AutoDesk Configuration Wizard, it came back saying the installation was incomplete and that no features were installed. When restarting Maya after that, I got a dialogue saying something about a "Licensing Error has Occured. Please see the console window for details." Then it opens my console and in there is a line that says something like, "Alias: Could not find the license server". I got the same results when choosing the license installation via file option with the file that was emailed to me by Autodesk. After finding out that the AutoDesk site had sent me a server license instead of a stand alone license, I called up the product registration hotline and spoke with a rep who emailed me what was supposed to be a standalone license file. She asked me for the MAC address on my computer which I gave to her. I then removed the aw_server.dat file from the flexlm folder in Finder and went back into the Configuration Wizard and tried the license installation with the new info that was emailed to me and this time, I cannot go further because it keeps saying there is an error with the license and the error reason given is that the host identifier is invalid. I've verified over and over again that the host identifier matches up with my MAC address and it is correct in the license file.