Area :: Header
Sweat, Swearing & Tears
Cupcakes & Critters reflects on what it takes to bring an indie game to market. Watch now
Discussion Groups

Installation - Hardware - OS

Reply
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-11-2010

F8 key doesn't work in Maya

549 Views, 4 Replies
02-11-2010 01:55 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie here,
I just have a problem with Maya's hotkey. My F8 key doesn't work when I want to switch from component mode to object mode. I have check Hotkey Editor, everything is in default state. I tried to bind F8 to other functions, and it didn't work too. While F9, F10, F11, F12 work well, F8 doesn't work at all...:(
I am currently using laptop with Window Vista 64, and Maya 2010 64bit. I just reboot my laptop, and install Maya, so I am sure there is nothing wrong with my system...Is this one a glitch?
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-19-2010

Re: F8 key doesn't work in Maya

02-18-2010 07:29 PM in reply to: harry1511
Nothing is wrong F8 doesn't do anything from what I know. I even have the short cut key stickers on my keyboard to help me learn all of the short cuts and their is none for F8.
Distinguished Contributor
178 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-22-2006

Re: F8 key doesn't work in Maya

02-18-2010 08:05 PM in reply to: harry1511
F8 is bound to Component Mode by default...a very useful hotkey indeed.

Does you laptop have a full standard keyboard?
Sometimes the F keys have multiple bindings...probably more to do with your particular keyboard mapping then Maya's settings.
Do you have a separate keyboard you can plug in?

Anyway, Hopefully you get it worked out soon.
~Ben
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-11-2010

Re: F8 key doesn't work in Maya

02-22-2010 05:21 PM in reply to: harry1511
My F8 and F7 are keys for adjusting brightness of the screen(of course, in the combination with Fn key). I haven't tried the external keyboard though. However, F7 does work when I try to use F7 as the hotkey for object mode.Its just weird.
Valued Contributor
55 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎09-04-2013

Re: F8 key doesn't work in Maya

01-22-2015 12:44 PM in reply to: harry1511

I'm having a similar problem as I'm trying to teach someone how to use Maya but on a Mac OS, I tried hitting f8 to enter component mode but it's not working.

 

I'm not a mac user, I dev on PC, has anyone had a similar problem?