InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
spatialguru
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 1 of 4 (623 Views)

What is git getting?

623 Views, 3 Replies
09-20-2012 08:43 PM

When I create a new AIM project sometimes it takes a couple minutes to initialise.  Just tonight I noticed git.exe working away with my CPU - is AIM grabbing remote data with git, or is it using it internally to version my project?  Curious what's going on in the backend.

 

Tyler

Geo-geek, Publisher, Author
http://LocatePress.com
http://WebMappingIllustrated.com
http://actian.com/products/ingres/geospatial
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,390
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 4 (614 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-21-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: spatialguru

The reason it takes so long to create a new project is because it loads all the material and such into a database.  The database is quite large.  Not sure about grabbing remote data.  I highly doubt it because I have created a project being offline with no issues.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 3 of 4 (593 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-25-2012 12:44 AM in reply to: TRogers

trogers is right: we don't pull in data from remote servers or so, we use GIT for internal stuff only; but since that are internas and might be subject to change in the future, we will not provide further details about that...

 

about the time for initializing a new project: we didn't optimized that (yet), since that shouldn't be the most often used operation of AIM, right?

Contributor
spatialguru
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 4 of 4 (583 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-25-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann
Thanks for the update - makes sense to me! :smileyhappy:
Geo-geek, Publisher, Author
http://LocatePress.com
http://WebMappingIllustrated.com
http://actian.com/products/ingres/geospatial
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.