InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
spatialguru
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 1 of 4 (608 Views)

What is git getting?

608 Views, 3 Replies
09-20-2012 08:43 PM

When I create a new AIM project sometimes it takes a couple minutes to initialise.  Just tonight I noticed git.exe working away with my CPU - is AIM grabbing remote data with git, or is it using it internally to version my project?  Curious what's going on in the backend.

 

Tyler

Geo-geek, Publisher, Author
http://LocatePress.com
http://WebMappingIllustrated.com
http://actian.com/products/ingres/geospatial
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,385
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 4 (599 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-21-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: spatialguru

The reason it takes so long to create a new project is because it loads all the material and such into a database.  The database is quite large.  Not sure about grabbing remote data.  I highly doubt it because I have created a project being offline with no issues.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 3 of 4 (578 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-25-2012 12:44 AM in reply to: TRogers

trogers is right: we don't pull in data from remote servers or so, we use GIT for internal stuff only; but since that are internas and might be subject to change in the future, we will not provide further details about that...

 

about the time for initializing a new project: we didn't optimized that (yet), since that shouldn't be the most often used operation of AIM, right?

Contributor
spatialguru
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 4 of 4 (568 Views)

Re: What is git getting?

09-25-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann
Thanks for the update - makes sense to me! :smileyhappy:
Geo-geek, Publisher, Author
http://LocatePress.com
http://WebMappingIllustrated.com
http://actian.com/products/ingres/geospatial
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!