InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 1 of 3 (619 Views)
Accepted Solution

water areas within designed dams and channels

619 Views, 2 Replies
02-19-2013 02:34 AM

AIM 2013

How do you present designed dams and water channels in AIM?

In my first attempt I am only dealing with dams.

The dams have been designed in C3D using C3D grading.

I opted not to use IMX to represent the damns as I wanted to make a clear difference between the Terrain and the dam regions.

Instead, I used FBX. Imported into AIM as Buildings.

I think this is already wrong as AIM seems to avoid buidlings when creating water areas manually.

What AIM object do I use to represent dams and channels - needing to contain water areas?

Thx,

Kevin.

 

the solution is to make deep holes in the terrain source data, way deeper than the designed surface..

: ) I now have instant cool water waves - thank you Autodesk : )

Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 2 of 3 (616 Views)

Re: water areas within designed dams and channels

02-19-2013 03:08 AM in reply to: kevin.barnett

oops ... it was the holes in the NGL surface that caused the 'non-water' problem.. I made holes where the dams are..

now I filled in the holes and the water is working correctly .. even with the dams represented as buildings..

almost there ..

Valued Mentor
kevin.barnett
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-13-2007
Message 3 of 3 (603 Views)

Re: water areas within designed dams and channels

02-19-2013 04:29 AM in reply to: kevin.barnett

the solution is to make deep holes in the terrain source data, way deeper than the designed surface..

: ) I now have instant cool water waves - thank you Autodesk : )

Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.