InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 1 of 8

Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

1278 Views, 7 Replies
08-29-2012 08:24 PM

So, I followed the steps HERE to bring in sketchup buildings into myAIM model but the problem I'm having is the image that is a part of the sketchup file is coming in as well. If I go into 3DS Max and remove the image, the fbx file still has the image and I'm not sure how to get rid of it. Any ideas?

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 2 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

08-29-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Aha! I figured it out! All by myself! And I'm not telling!

 

 

Ok, I'll tell. What I did was to erase the image out of 3DS Max Design, and then, instead of using the Export command, I selected the objects in the model and chose Export Selected. Worked BEAUTIFULLY! http://screencast.com/t/sEQZq5Kl 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Distinguished Contributor
150 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Post 3 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-02-2012 08:55 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

If there were a AIM wishes page, I'd add a wish to import a SKP directly. 

*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 4 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-02-2012 09:04 PM in reply to: lholland

Fortunately, most people that will be using AIM have the Infrastructure Design Suite so they have 3DS Max as well. There is a plug in available in the AutoCAD Exchange that will import a Sketchup file directly into AutoCAD but I was having odd results with that. The 3DS Max route seems to work best for me.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Employee
88 Posts
17 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Post 5 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-03-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

And you should be able to "send-to your current 3D model" from 3ds max directly to AIM:

  1. open your AIM model you want the 3d model imported into
  2. select the 3D model in 3ds max you want to send-to AIM
  3. select the 3ds max application icon at the top left and then select "send-to AIM"...
  4. the model should then appear "magically" in AIM, where you can configure it and place it interactively
*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 6 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

09-03-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

That worked really slick. I'll have to try it again with the file with the image and see if I have the same issues (I'm assuming I will because it probably just automates the export everything to fbx command).

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Active Member
9 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-19-2010
Post 7 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

05-28-2014 02:46 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

You can open .skp files using Sketchup Make (Free download) and export to Collada .dae or Autodesk .fbx.  These files work great in Infraworks, just import into the Style Pallet.

*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 8 of 8

Re: Sketchup Warehouse to AIM

05-28-2014 03:52 PM in reply to: sconrad77

Honestly, I just downloaded Sketchup and use that to convert them to the collada file format now.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!