InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 1 of 11 (678 Views)

Recover a file

678 Views, 10 Replies
10-22-2013 12:05 PM

Is there a way to recover a corrupt infraworks file?

 

I was working on a model that crashed while I was changing road styles.  When I opened the model back again, I get the error report window.  I have already restarted the PC.  Opening a different model is fine.  

 

Is there a backup file created similar to the .bak file for dwg files?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,327
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 11 (679 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-22-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

Infraworks does not use a "file" per se.  It's a database.  Not sure how it could have gotten corrupt.  

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,327
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 11 (678 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-22-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

What is the error you are getting?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 4 of 11 (672 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-22-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: TRogers

It doesn't give any details of the error.  It goes straight to the Error Report sending window after a second or 2 of clicking the model.  It just says "A software problem has caused Autodesk Infraworks 2014 R2 to close unexpectedly"

 

The error log:

 

161 [3824]: main.cpp(165): info: logging started in: C:/Users/Harold-Mao/AppData/Roaming/Autodesk/InfraWorks 2014 R2/logs/AIM_2013-10-22_20-08-44_0000.log
163 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(706): info: init application locale using: 'en-US'
171 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(825): info: Using resource data folder: C:/ProgramData/Autodesk/InfraWorks 2014 R2/Resources
171 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(835): info: Using user data folder: D:/Harold-Mao/My Documents/Autodesk InfraWorks Models
1113 [3824]: Core.cpp(41): info: using GDAL data path: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/InfraWorks 2014 R2/\gdal_data
1253 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(461): info: AlxApplication: Initialized!
4244 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_CommentsFeed.aimplugin.dll
4432 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_PathOptimizationUI.aimplugin.dll
4716 [3824]: ActionManager.cpp(50): warn: Action 'ID_Window_ProfileView' has already been registered -- will replace.
4717 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_RoadsHighwaysUi.aimplugin.dll
4727 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_RT.aimplugin.dll
4734 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_Scenario.aimplugin.dll
4848 [3824]: AlxApplication.cpp(602): info: Loaded plugin: AIM_Service.aimplugin.dll

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,756
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 11 (644 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-24-2013 08:53 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

Same is happening to me

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 6 of 11 (604 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-30-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: neilyj

Neil,

 

What caused the crash?

 

I had one again today just changing a road style from the properties palette.  Previously I was drag and dropping a road style from the Style Pallette to the proposed road.  :smileyfrustrated:

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 7 of 11 (600 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-30-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

I found this thread and followed the steps but didn't work.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/InfraWorks/crash-on-start-up-corrupt-file/td-p/3932402

 

New Member
ian.butt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 8 of 11 (591 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-30-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

If you manage to get your model fixed somehow please let us know. My model corrupted earlier today when my pc bluescreened and i've lost a lot of work because of it.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,756
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (563 Views)

Re: Recover a file

10-31-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto
I'm not sure - I just deleted it all and started again...
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Member
stevebatchelder
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2009
Message 10 of 11 (338 Views)

Re: Recover a file

01-08-2014 10:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

Has anyone found a solution for this yet? I am having the same problem. My crash happened when I was tying to add a data source. Now every time I try to open that model Infraworks crashes. 

 

I have tried logging out, shutting down, opening on another computer, and the process described in: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/InfraWorks-General/crash-on-start-up-corrupt-file/td-p/3932402 but nothing has worked.

 

I'm about ready to recreate the model unless anyone has a solution.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.