InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mburdick
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-06-2004
Message 1 of 11 (812 Views)

Profiles in Infraworks

812 Views, 10 Replies
04-08-2013 11:56 AM

I have just loaded the 2014 Infraworks and dont have a Corridor tab under View like everything I read online, is there a toggle or something that will get me it and I'm also missing the Optimize tab. any thoughts.

 

Thanks

Mike

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 11 (808 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:19 PM in reply to: mburdick

That is a module that is only available in the Infrastructure Design Suite Ultimate.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,245
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 11 (807 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:19 PM in reply to: mburdick

the optimize tab is only available with the Roads & Highways module which is only available with Infrastructure Design Suite Ulimate 2014 with sub

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwOIkETDS3M

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,245
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 11 (805 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: DarrenP

i would have to check on the corridor tab

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,245
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 11 (802 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: DarrenP

this doesn't have the corridor tab either: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e_D4zJytPkA

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 11 (799 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: DarrenP

I think it's the Optimize tab he is referring to.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
mburdick
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-06-2004
Message 7 of 11 (791 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

04-08-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: mburdick

OK I was woundering if that might be it, I will look at it when it becomes available, thanks

 

Contributor
schroeder.a
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Message 8 of 11 (434 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

11-15-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: DarrenP
Anyone else think this is ridiculous? The parting-out of functionality? Why is this not just a function available in Civil3D, where arguably, it belongs? They have so little to justify these subscription tiers that they have to spread this all out - withholding actually useful functionality from users in order to eek a little more $$$ out of an already abused consumer base? Should I have to go ultimate (I DON'T WANT REVIT) just to get this? If this is a cloud function - then pay-per-use (which is already is, as you have to pay in these amusing cloud credits) - so just expose the functionality to C3D already.
Employee
lawrence.sander
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 9 of 11 (423 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

11-15-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: schroeder.a

Schroeder.a, I appreciate your passion about this. You don't have to buy IDS-Ultimate and Revit. Roadway Design for InfraWorks 360 Pro gets you access to profile (vertical) optimization. (And, of course, you can export your results into Civil 3D format.)

Contributor
schroeder.a
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Message 10 of 11 (417 Views)

Re: Profiles in Infraworks

11-15-2013 01:04 PM in reply to: lawrence.sander
Thanks for your reply Lawrence - I have to ask though, how did anyone at Autodesk arrive at the conclusion that this would be better suited to Infraworks than Civil3D, your flagship design software? What input is sent to the cloud service? A TIN and a LandXMLfile? Could this not be ported to Civil3D? Horizontal alignments based on a simple cost surface (avoid high slope, water bodies, certain parcels), and vertical optimization is low-hanging fruit. GIS systems have had this ability for some time now - but basic analysis is completely left out of Civil3D and Map3D (Map3D has 10% of the analysis capabilities that QGIS, for example, has).
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.