InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 11 (368 Views)
Accepted Solution

Positioning wind turbines

368 Views, 10 Replies
02-17-2014 02:04 PM

I currently position wind turbines for fly through presentations by eye using points of interest. The turbines are in a civil 3d drawing as cogo points and I want to use an sdf file or similar to  import the turbines directly to IW and use these locations to apply the points of interest. Can this be done and if so how can I do it?

 

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Should be pretty straight forward:

1. Select your point-based FDO data source (e.g. SHP, SDF, etc.) providing the positions for import and open the data source config dialog for it (opens automatically if you drag&drop the file into the scene, otherwise double-click the data source in the Data Source Explorer)
2. Set the target class/type to "City Furniture"
3. For the "Rule Style" property mapping select the 3d model style "3D Model\Energy\Wind Turbine - Land/Sea"
4. Click "Close and Refresh"

Done - the geo-referenced points defined by your external file should be represented as city furniture features within the model scene using the wind turbine 3d model as instanced model.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 11 (354 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-18-2014 12:32 AM in reply to: neilyj
To clarify - rather than guessing the locations I want to use the actual locations but I can't see how I could do this
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
jutters
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 3 of 11 (348 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-18-2014 02:35 AM in reply to: neilyj
Should be pretty straight forward:

1. Select your point-based FDO data source (e.g. SHP, SDF, etc.) providing the positions for import and open the data source config dialog for it (opens automatically if you drag&drop the file into the scene, otherwise double-click the data source in the Data Source Explorer)
2. Set the target class/type to "City Furniture"
3. For the "Rule Style" property mapping select the 3d model style "3D Model\Energy\Wind Turbine - Land/Sea"
4. Click "Close and Refresh"

Done - the geo-referenced points defined by your external file should be represented as city furniture features within the model scene using the wind turbine 3d model as instanced model.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 11 (342 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-18-2014 02:45 AM in reply to: jutters
Brilliant - thanks for this; you don't know how much time this will save...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,765
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 11 (305 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-20-2014 02:03 PM in reply to: jutters

Friend, you need to post more. I've read two posts from you and they were both very helpful. Thanks!

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
jutters
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 6 of 11 (295 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-21-2014 02:13 AM in reply to: tcorey
Thanks, appreciated :smileyhappy:

Where I can be of any help, I'll try to step in.

Enjoy the journey (as one fellow uses to say).
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 11 (279 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-27-2014 01:10 AM in reply to: jutters

The positioning is working great but the turbines are all defaulting to 67m high whereas they need to be 125m.

 

I can select one and scale the X,Y & Z by (125/67) but how can I select all the turbines at once  to do a one time scale change?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
jutters
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 8 of 11 (275 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-27-2014 01:46 AM in reply to: neilyj
Easiest would probably be to use a 3d model style that already provides the right dimensions for the 3d model to be used to represent the point features in the scene (in your case a tweaked wind turbine style). Besides that you can do the following for tweaking the scaling of the point features themselves (in your case the city furniture using the wind turbine style): 1. Change the height of a single point feature using the blue height gizmo 2. Look at the property inspector for that feature how the height change translated to a change for the for Scale X/Y/Z properties (should all have the same value as an uniform scaling should have taken place) 3. Apply these scaling values to all other features using the same 3d model style => copy the Scale X value from the scaled feature => select all point features using the same 3d model style (if they were imported from polylines of SDF/SHP or other FDO sources, select a single point feature and then reselect the same feature again for selecting additionally all other feature of the same group/polyline) => paste the copied Scale X to the Scale X/Y/Z properties of the multi-selection => click "Update" in the property inspector to commit the changes and trigger a regeneration of the affected features
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (271 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-27-2014 02:04 AM in reply to: jutters

The Style method looks good and I'll use that in the future...:smileyhappy:

 

I can't seem to select more than one turbine - I select one by clicking it and it highlights and all the gizmos appear but clicking again just zooms in to it. Is there a technique for selecting more than one? I can CTRL+Pick each one but that's a bit tedious.....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
jutters
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 10 of 11 (266 Views)

Re: Positioning wind turbines

02-27-2014 02:34 AM in reply to: neilyj
Group selection of point features only works if the features originate from a polyline or polygon (either drawn or imported) - single click selects the a single feature from the group and another single click on the selected feature (not on any edit gizmo) selects the whole group. If the point features are only implicitly defined (e.g. using a 3d model style for a barrier feature), they can't be single selected and single click onto one of them always selects the group.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.