InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 1 of 13
Accepted Solution

Import 3D model with material

1522 Views, 12 Replies
12-19-2012 08:23 AM

Is it possible to import the materials with a 3D model?  I have downloaded a model form the sketchup google warehouse as a dae and an skp.  It looks great in 3Ds max because the material shows up, then when i bring it into AIM it looks like blocks because there is no material.  The person who created the model used materials on faces rather than surfaces. 

If it looks good in Max, then follow this link for instructions on how to get it out of Max with the materials...

 

http://atlandsend.typepad.com/at-lands-end/2012/04/how-to-export-from-google-warehouse-to-aim.html

*Expert Elite*
1,398 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 2 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: mshoffman

The materials should come with it.  I get the same results sometimes.  Restarting AIM usually fixes it.  Are you connecting as a 3D Model or are you creating it in the Style Palette?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 3 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: mshoffman

Im importing it as a 3D model.  I havent been able to use anythign with the 3D bridge model and the style palette.  This is the model I am using http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=851f8aceffa0a1f08e506821bf7d2e2e&prevstart=0. Restarting AIM doesnt seem to help.  It could be just the way this model is built?

*Expert Elite*
1,398 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 4 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: mshoffman

It is the model.  The best way to check these models is to click the 3D View button in Trimble 3D Warehouse.  That will be the actual model that you are downloading.  If you look at this bridge in the 3D View, it’s pretty crappy.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 5 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: TRogers

It looks great in 3Ds Max :-) lol its just made by a bunch of materials except for the columns.  I can live with the block look.  Thanks for the replies.  I have been having a love hate relationship with AIM the last few days, just when I think things are looking good, it seems to crash, then corrupt the file and I have to start over.  The file sizes are so big and with no real back up until you publish its tough.  Still have a lot to learn. 

*Expert Elite*
1,398 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 6 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: mshoffman

If it looks good in Max, then follow this link for instructions on how to get it out of Max with the materials...

 

http://atlandsend.typepad.com/at-lands-end/2012/04/how-to-export-from-google-warehouse-to-aim.html

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 7 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: TRogers

Thank you so much! I will be bookmarking or printing that article.  It worked great.  There are some weird video things but the whole thing is there in AIM.  It just depends on how close or far you are and which angle on how you see the material. 

Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 8 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: mshoffman

Ok, Embedded the media and it comes it....see attached jpgs.  Before i actually place it interactively it looks pefect.  Once i place it something it happening with the model.  I tried as a Building (the image you see called after) and I tried it as a Road, however as a road it comes in a lot worse.  Any thoughts?

*Expert Elite*
2,876 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 9 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: mshoffman

Try turning on "Show Backfaces". HERE

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Contributor
18 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Post 10 of 13

Re: Import 3D model with material

12-20-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Perfect! Thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!