InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ctbailey
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 1 of 4 (595 Views)
Accepted Solution

Graphics cards in VMs

595 Views, 3 Replies
04-23-2012 11:04 AM

has anyone successfully launched AIM in a virtual Machine envoronment?  I'm getting VMWare 8.0 graphics card complaints, thusly AIM won't launch.

__________
Craig T. Bailey, PE, LLS
Bailey Engineering
Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 2 of 4 (588 Views)

Re: Graphics cards in VMs

04-24-2012 01:37 AM in reply to: ctbailey

Since AIM requires DirectX 10 it will not run in a VM... :-(

Distinguished Contributor
ctbailey
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 3 of 4 (583 Views)

Re: Graphics cards in VMs

04-24-2012 06:34 AM in reply to: ctbailey
Thank you very much. That answers that!
__________
Craig T. Bailey, PE, LLS
Bailey Engineering
Active Contributor
clemk
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (434 Views)

Re: Graphics cards in VMs

03-26-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Is this still the case?  With AIM 2013 R2?  How about with "InfraWorks"?  We would like to run Windows 7 based VM's in a Hyper-V environment utilizing RemoteFX with an external GPU. Does AIM / InfraWorks support the vGPU environment to allow the hardware acceleration?

 

thanks!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.