InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,792
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 18 (410 Views)

Fences/Gates

410 Views, 17 Replies
02-26-2014 12:24 PM

There don't appear to be any objects to represent Stockproof fencing/post and rail fencing/gates etc - am I overlooking something

 

If not, how can I create these objects?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
jutters
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 2 of 18 (395 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

02-27-2014 02:39 AM in reply to: neilyj
Either create custom barrier styles using proper materials representing the fence and use them to stylize barrier polyline features. Or create custom 3d model styles providing the 3d model applicable in a repetitive pattern/context and use these to stylize barrier features or use them for street style track decorations (to be placed along a track of a road feature automatically).
Active Contributor
RbeisawWP
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Message 3 of 18 (376 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

02-28-2014 04:06 AM in reply to: neilyj

Neilyj -

 

I found it odd as well that there wasnt a standard chainlink fence or really any fencing for that matter out of the box. Like Jutters said....i created a custom thin walled barrier and then applied a custom material to it with a jpeg that i downloaded that looked like chainlink fence. In the end it wasnt great, but it did the trick. It wasnt transparent either which would have been nice. Seems like you just have to work around it for now....

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,334
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 18 (373 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

02-28-2014 04:20 AM in reply to: neilyj
I got a very detailed, tranparent chain link fence from 3D Warehouse.
If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,334
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 18 (368 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

02-28-2014 04:34 AM in reply to: neilyj
It is shown in the below video for my cousin's business...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1edaL7KhIXs&feature=youtube_gdata_player
If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,792
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 18 (363 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

03-01-2014 01:44 AM in reply to: neilyj
I had a look at 3d warehouse: how do you go from the sketch up format to something usable in infraworks?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
john.de.leeuw
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Message 7 of 18 (359 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

03-01-2014 01:49 AM in reply to: neilyj
SKP import is now natively supported within the latest release (R4 / InfraWorks 360). Collada DAE import was already supported
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,334
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 18 (354 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

03-01-2014 05:51 AM in reply to: neilyj
If there is not a collada file available for downloand and you do not have R4, then download the free Sketchup version and export it from there as a collada.
If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,601
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 18 (348 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

03-02-2014 01:19 PM in reply to: TRogers

The other thing you can do is import the sketchup file into 3DS Max Design and then export to 3ds or Fbx. Those formats can be imported into the older versions of InfraWorks.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 10 of 18 (105 Views)

Re: Fences/Gates

08-18-2014 11:54 AM in reply to: TRogers
i downloaded a fence from 3d warehouse. I am still confused about how to get it into infraworks 2014. Can somebody explain, i'd appreciate it.
mkh
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.