InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 4 (675 Views)
Accepted Solution

Displaying Rivers

675 Views, 3 Replies
09-02-2012 12:41 AM

So, if you have a .shp file representing the flowlines of rivers and streams, what's the best way to display that? Water areas don't work, right? They have to have an enclosed area and all I have is the flowline of the streams. Create a road style that looks like a river? Any other ideas?

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog

There is an easier solution to this: when importing the data and after selecting the target type "Water area" there is this field "Buffer width": this can be used to turn the line string/polyline into a polygon. This field can be either mapped from the imported data or set to a constant value. and then you can chose an appropriate water style.

 

And a remark to the water surface: you can also use the special "water shader material" (dynamically animated and reflective) as material for the different street track materials; there should be no need to import your own water texture.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,389
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 4 (669 Views)

Re: Displaying Rivers

09-02-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

You are correct.  You  have to have a closed area for the water style.  And you are also correct in that you could create a road with a "water" surface.  You can grab a picture of water off the internet and assign it as a material.  Should work for you.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 3 of 4 (660 Views)

Re: Displaying Rivers

09-03-2012 01:22 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

There is an easier solution to this: when importing the data and after selecting the target type "Water area" there is this field "Buffer width": this can be used to turn the line string/polyline into a polygon. This field can be either mapped from the imported data or set to a constant value. and then you can chose an appropriate water style.

 

And a remark to the water surface: you can also use the special "water shader material" (dynamically animated and reflective) as material for the different street track materials; there should be no need to import your own water texture.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 4 (658 Views)

Re: Displaying Rivers

09-03-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

The buffer width works like a charm! Now if only my dataset had the width of the stream in it. 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!