InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
knurrebusk
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-05-2007
Message 1 of 3 (365 Views)
Accepted Solution

Buggy geolocations!

365 Views, 2 Replies
01-20-2012 09:04 AM

I sometime have problems if make a mistake with wrong georeference for a file, and need exit the project to reload it for the main terrain to appear!

 

It´s mainly small google earth stuff, that holds the WGS84 thing, and project terrain is way different as natrual.

There is no reason this should offset the whole projectworld into needing reset it All though!, if so make a deasent faq.

 

I could fill endless pages of the wonderful brilliant parts of this great tool, but I´m feeling a little bit constrained with the lack of a unlock from geolocation thing if IM don´t like the world file, good thing is I finally caved in and make my own, and it works perfect.

 

But!, many customers will want´s to drag stuff from Google Earth etc! for consecptual planning, as a placeholder for heavy detailed files later, so why not let it be possible to disassotiate/place as with fbx files?

 

But I do understand it´s a dangerous pit to fall in if you don´t keep track of the loose papers imported he he.

Employee
cjandrews22
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 2 of 3 (340 Views)

Re: Buggy geolocations!

02-01-2012 02:16 PM in reply to: knurrebusk

Hi,


You should be able to do one of the following:

 

   1. Remove the file from your model

   2. Push F5 to regenerate the whole model

   3. Re import the file with the right coordinate system

 

or 

 

  1. Correct the coordinate system on the file

  2. Push F5 to regenerate the whole model

 

You should not have to exit every time.


Chris

 

Senior Product/Product Line Manger
Media and Entertainment Cloud Services
Autodesk
Active Contributor
knurrebusk
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-05-2007
Message 3 of 3 (327 Views)

Re: Buggy geolocations!

02-08-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: cjandrews22

Thanks!

Solution added to my tips folder, in case I forget :smileyhappy:

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.