InfraWorks General Discussion

InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,001
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 1 of 6 (405 Views)

any way to get elevation for point picked

405 Views, 5 Replies
01-23-2013 09:52 AM

We are constantly asking what elevation something is at, maybe a pad or mountain peak.

Is there a way to list an elevation for a point picked?

Maybe this is a tool I couild develop using AIM's API?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: any way to get elevation for point picked

01-23-2013 10:51 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Use the Range Finder...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

 

This will give you the elevation at a point that is picked on the screen...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,001
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 3 of 6 (393 Views)

Re: any way to get elevation for point picked

01-23-2013 02:58 PM in reply to: TRogers

That tool is not making sense for me.

I pick a point above my surface, and it shoots a line to the surface from some altitude, maybe determined by my zoom factor.

I get altitudes way too small, like 20.1 ft.

It does not seem suited to getting surface elevations at all, any ideas what its doing?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 6 (390 Views)

Re: any way to get elevation for point picked

01-23-2013 03:00 PM in reply to: jmaeding

That's really the only option that you have as far as I know.  Maybe next realease.  You can do a surface analysis, but I don't think that is what you're looking for.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,001
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 5 of 6 (385 Views)

Re: any way to get elevation for point picked

01-23-2013 04:46 PM in reply to: TRogers

thanks for trying, I need to look at the API as I have other tasks like placing 3d models at surface elevation...

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: any way to get elevation for point picked

01-24-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: jmaeding

You can use the Interactive Placing option to do that, unless you want to put it at a said elevation.  If that's the case, you're out of luck again.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.