InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 3 (737 Views)

3D Model Draping

737 Views, 2 Replies
01-29-2013 11:21 AM

When inserting a 3D model with terrain, the model will attach, but it will not drape.  See images...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

 

Now if you look at the back of the building, it attaches to the terrain, but it does not "follow" the terrain...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

 

Any workarounds for this?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Contributor
scottkent
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 2 of 3 (682 Views)

Re: 3D Model Draping

02-14-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: TRogers

You are correct - the model will not 'follow' the terrain.  The best way to deal with this is to have the 'terrain' of your building model match your AIM surface as closely as possible.

Scott Kent P.E.
Senior QA Analyst II
Infrastructure Collaboration Products

Autodesk, Inc.
100 Commercial Street
Manchester, NH 03101
Active Member
CAusman
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 3 of 3 (584 Views)

Re: 3D Model Draping

02-28-2013 04:33 PM in reply to: TRogers

When placing models on uneven terrain I use the method described in this Autodesk blog entry to create a building pad of sorts.  Works in reverse as well.

 

http://atlandsend.typepad.com/at-lands-end/2012/11/how-to-flatten-terrain-coverages-easily-in-aim.ht...

 

Hope that helps.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.