InfraWorks General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
r.j.w.cross
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 1 of 4 (708 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D Facades

708 Views, 3 Replies
03-06-2012 03:59 PM

I have been playing with importing a large number of buildings as building footprints and then trying to make them look good.

 

While playing with facades I noticed a '3D geometry' check box in the facade style editor above the preview pane. When clicking this, the facade in the preview pane looks amazing fully modeled in 3D, however I can not figure out how to get the 3D versions of the facades into the model.

 

Is there something I am missing, or some render mode that shows this extra detail?

There is a setting for this:

Menu->Edit->Preferences...->General->Generation Level-of-Detail: change that to "High"

 

Note, that this is a persistent application setting, not stored per city model but for the whole application.

Employee
konstantin.baumann
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2011
Message 2 of 4 (701 Views)

Re: 3D Facades

03-07-2012 03:58 AM in reply to: r.j.w.cross

There is a setting for this:

Menu->Edit->Preferences...->General->Generation Level-of-Detail: change that to "High"

 

Note, that this is a persistent application setting, not stored per city model but for the whole application.

Contributor
r.j.w.cross
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 3 of 4 (692 Views)

Re: 3D Facades

03-07-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: konstantin.baumann

Great, this worked perfectly. Thankyou!

 

One thing for others having this issue, sometimes it tkaes awhile for the detailed geometry and textures to load. You can try readding the facade to speed things up.

 

Really great product, it keeps impressing me :smileyhappy:

Employee
cjandrews22
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 4 of 4 (674 Views)

Re: 3D Facades

03-12-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: r.j.w.cross

We're really glad that you like it. 

If you get the chance, send us an example movie or some screenshots.


I'll happily post them on the At Land's End blog.

Chris

 

Senior Product/Product Line Manger
Media and Entertainment Cloud Services
Autodesk
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.