Infrastructure Map Server General Discussion

Infrastructure Map Server General Discussion

Reply
*Jon Rizzo
Message 1 of 7 (115 Views)

Custom Logos not working

115 Views, 6 Replies
02-13-2007 08:25 AM
Hello,

I am having trouble displaying a custom logo on my PrintLayout. I set up
the Sheboygan sample, and that sample seems to have the same problem - when
I execute the "Plot as DWF" command, the DWF file comes out fine, but no
logo is displayed anywhere. I am having a similar problem trying to add a
custom logo to my own print layouts. Can anybody tell me how to make this
work? Thank you.

Regards,

Jon Rizzo
Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc.
Employee
dswilson
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 2 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-13-2007 10:04 AM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
Are you using the DWF viewer when attempting to print or are you just doing the plot? If you use the print command with the DWF Viewer in the layout you can preview and see if your logo is being picked up. If the path to the file is not correct then the server won't pick it up. I believe the path to the logo image can either be a resource in the respository or a path to a file on the server. I'm also not sure that if you just do the plot that the print layout is used.

If you search on Logo in the Studio Help you will find a good sample section with all the logo parameters. Once you edit your custom print layout then modify the print command in your web layout and under the addtional parameters tab enable the custom print layout.

Regards,
Dave


Dave Wilson
SQA Analyst
AEC IM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Jon Rizzo
Message 3 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-13-2007 12:08 PM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
I am just trying to use the "Plot to DWF" command from the
dotnetviewersample/ajaxviewersample.aspx . The sample uses a PrintLayout
which includes the CityLogo image. When you run that command, it displays a
form with a checkbox marked "Use Print Layout". I assume that checking this
box causes the print layout to be applied. Is that an incorrect assumption?
If you run that sample and check that box, do you see the CityLogo image
anywhere on the resulting DWF? I do not. Am I doing something wrong here?
The sample does not appear to be working properly.





wrote in message news:5485206@discussion.autodesk.com...
Are you using the DWF viewer when attempting to print or are you just doing
the plot? If you use the print command with the DWF Viewer in the layout you
can preview and see if your logo is being picked up. If the path to the file
is not correct then the server won't pick it up. I believe the path to the
logo image can either be a resource in the respository or a path to a file
on the server. I'm also not sure that if you just do the plot that the print
layout is used.

If you search on Logo in the Studio Help you will find a good sample section
with all the logo parameters. Once you edit your custom print layout then
modify the print command in your web layout and under the addtional
parameters tab enable the custom print layout.

Regards,
Dave
Employee
dswilson
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 4 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-13-2007 12:15 PM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
It looks like the copy I have of the PHP Sample Web Layout doesn't have a print layout assigned to the Print command. Edit your print command and ensure the Sheybogan Map layout is selected.

Dave


Dave Wilson
SQA Analyst
AEC IM
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
dswilson
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 5 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-13-2007 01:53 PM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
I had a problem with the virtual directory on my MGE instance, but once I fixed that and ensured a print layout was added to the print command I get the logo appearing in both variations of the Plot sample page.

Dave


Dave Wilson
SQA Analyst
AEC IM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Jon Rizzo
Message 6 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-14-2007 06:56 AM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
Hi,

Thanks for looking at this. I am not referring to the Print command, which
is only supported by the DWF viewer. I am referring to the "Plot as DWF"
command which is defined on the Task Bar Menu of the Sheboygan sample. I am
using the ajax viewer.




wrote in message news:5485536@discussion.autodesk.com...
I had a problem with the virtual directory on my MGE instance, but once I
fixed that and ensured a print layout was added to the print command I get
the logo appearing in both variations of the Plot sample page.

Dave
Employee
dswilson
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 7 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: Custom Logos not working

02-14-2007 07:19 AM in reply to: *Jon Rizzo
I realize that completely. I had been led to believe that the print layout wasn't associated with the Web layout unless one was assigned via the print command. Apparently that isn't the case. I've looked through the code briefly and I've found the reference to where the layout is specified. It's hard coded in the sample. I've attached a copy of the phpviewersample directory in case there is a difference between your copy and the one I'm using. Mine seems to work.

Dave


Dave Wilson
SQA Analyst
AEC IM
Autodesk, Inc.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.