Impression

Reply
New Member
jtickenoff
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-24-2009
Message 11 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

11-03-2009 08:21 AM in reply to: monksanand
This problem is bigger than Windows 7....Autodesk is just completely ignoring this software. I contacted them a few months ago (for the very first time) about another Impression realated issue (faceted arcs), and was basically told that no one was knowledgable enough to anwser any Impression related questions.

After upgradng to Windows 7 I tried importing a .dwg file to Impression 3 and it goes straight into adesk crash mode.

I'm giving up on this software for now....zero support. Back to Adobe.
Valued Contributor
KPSWD
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 12 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

11-15-2009 11:52 PM in reply to: monksanand
Bump. Another week slips by and still radio silence from Autodesk.

I am feeling like dumping Impression too now, if it is not going to be supported. Jtickenoff, you say that you will go back to Photoshop, which I use to process illustrations that have been through Impression to convert the CAD geometry to 'wiggle' pencil strokes and to get the watercolour fills. Do you know of anything else that can convert the lines into the hand-drawn wiggly look?
Active Contributor
R_Laufer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 13 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

11-19-2009 11:22 AM in reply to: monksanand
Just adding my 2 cents...any fixes? We are at a stand still and are doing renderings by hand with markers! We are small and don't have photoshop (nor will we buy it). Is autodesk not going to have impression anymore? It seems that way since they no longer post here. I used it because it was part of my subscription and really can't afford to buy a new rendering program right now (markers are cheaper!) Any suggestions on a good CAD to rendering style program I can get that isn't to expensive? I'm giving up on having impression back...I just don't know how I will ever be able to recover all the irf's I already have.
Valued Contributor
KPSWD
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 14 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

11-26-2009 09:17 AM in reply to: monksanand
I have been in contact with Autodesk via my subscription support, and thought I would share the response:

"It looks as though this is actually a Microsoft issue. Our developers have logged this with their contact in Microsoft and we are currently waiting on feedback from them. I have requested an update from our developers and will get back to you when I hear from them."
So at least it looks like we will get our fix, but still none the wiser about when.
Keith

Mentor
cbess
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 15 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-05-2010 02:57 PM in reply to: monksanand
Any response on this?
Cory

Civil 3D 2013 SP1
Win 7 x64 SP1
Intel Core2 Duo 2.67 GHz
8 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 3500
New Member
scstm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Message 16 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-10-2010 09:04 PM in reply to: monksanand
I have just installed Impression 3 in a new HP TouchSmart tx2 under Windows7 and it installs from the downloaded Subscripton site OK but when you lauch from desktop get about 80% loaded and reports "your installation is corrupt..."
I have done it totally all over 3 times just to make sure!
As an Architect I love Impression for quick sketchy looks of my Revit Arch models and elevations.
No other Autodesk product has such a wide range of color fill texture styling tools.
ASBPro is way too light on effects to be worth using.
I do hope Autodesk keeps the Ipression code going into the future.
When can we have a fix?
Valued Contributor
KPSWD
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 17 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-11-2010 01:43 AM in reply to: monksanand
scstm: It seems you have a different problem there. The incompatibility problem with Impression and Win7 appears when you try to use it. When I have installed it on Win7 (which I have also repeated several times), the installation proceeds without issue, and the program even starts normally. However, as soon as you try to open a file (DWG/DWF) an error is generated saying that the file cannot be opened. And if you try to create a file from scratch in Impression, you will get a similar error when trying to save it.
According to Autodesk Support, the problem lies with Microsoft (dotnet?). I am not sure whether MS agree.... so there could be a standoff, which might explain the delay in resolving it.
I urge anyone who is impacted by this issue to contact Autodesk support via Subscription. We need keep up some pressure to get a resolution. We need keep up some pressure to get a resolution.
Having said that, the low activity on this forum makes me wonder how big the user base for Impression is, and thus how high a priority fixing it is for Autodesk.
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 18 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-18-2010 01:46 PM in reply to: monksanand
I noticed this last week when digging around for another fix:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14056444&linkID=9240617

Impression is currently not supported on Windows 7.
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Mentor
cbess
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 19 of 122 (2,760 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-19-2010 07:59 AM in reply to: monksanand
Hey at least now we know they are aware of it! Whether they plan on fixing it any time soon may be a different story.
Cory

Civil 3D 2013 SP1
Win 7 x64 SP1
Intel Core2 Duo 2.67 GHz
8 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 3500
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 20 of 122 (2,763 Views)

Re: Impressions and windows 7

01-19-2010 08:20 AM in reply to: monksanand
Do you want it to be a priority?

Let the project teams at Autodesk know that: Product Feedback

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.