Impression

Reply
Member
craig
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-09-2008
Message 1 of 6 (816 Views)

Impression Startup issues

816 Views, 5 Replies
12-18-2009 02:18 AM
each time I start up impression 3 it fails and I receive the message your system cannot provide appropriate direct3d display. i have a nvidia quadro 570m graphics card with 512mb memory and have updated to the latest drivers. anyone else have this problem, have been working fine up to now????
*Nick Van Laar
Message 2 of 6 (816 Views)

Re: Impression Startup issues

01-19-2010 10:15 AM in reply to: craig
Did Impression 2 work OK on this same computer?

"Craig Macdonald" wrote in message news:6306893@discussion.autodesk.com...
> each time I start up impression 3 it fails and I receive the message your
> system cannot provide appropriate direct3d display. i have a nvidia quadro
> 570m graphics card with 512mb memory and have updated to the latest
> drivers. anyone else have this problem, have been working fine up to
> now????
Member
craig
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-09-2008
Message 3 of 6 (816 Views)

Re: Impression Startup issues

01-19-2010 04:26 PM in reply to: craig
No Impression 2 had similar problems. Since this time though I have updated the graphics driver and all seems fine at this stage. I am having trouble with graphics at the moment so it may be time to upgrade!
*Nick Van Laar
Message 4 of 6 (816 Views)

Re: Impression Startup issues

01-20-2010 10:42 AM in reply to: craig
I'm not familiar with the 570m, but maybe it is not pixel shader 2.0 (Direct
X 9.0b or c I think...) compliant.

"Craig Macdonald" wrote in message news:6321207@discussion.autodesk.com...
> No Impression 2 had similar problems. Since this time though I have
> updated the graphics driver and all seems fine at this stage. I am having
> trouble with graphics at the moment so it may be time to upgrade!
Member
craig
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-09-2008
Message 5 of 6 (816 Views)

Re: Impression Startup issues

01-20-2010 11:24 AM in reply to: craig
I have run directx 9 tests and found it works but not sure if that is version b or c?? I was using the program yesterday and began having trouble again with insufficient video memory error messages causing the program to shut down. The file I am working on is only about 3mb in size but there is obviously something else that causes this conflict. In order to provide a somewhat stable work environment I run Impression 3 on its own without any other programs running, even having MS Outlook open in the background will cause problems. Again I believe it is time to upgrade!
Thanks for your help so far it is good to have someone who understands the software and hardware issues and requirements, my current IT support find it difficult to understand my issues and when I take the laptop in to show them it never seems to play up.
*Nick Van Laar
Message 6 of 6 (816 Views)

Re: Impression Startup issues

01-20-2010 03:30 PM in reply to: craig

Just so you know, Impression is only 2D, but the effects it
generates require 3D graphics.  People don't
believe/realize it, but Impression is a very graphically intense program. 
I would recommend a good mid to high end GPU with a minimum of
512 MB memory.  Any of the "gamer" cards will work fine.  I actually
use an AMD Radeon HD 3870 with really good results.  Also be sure you
have the latest video driver installed.

 

A 3MB file is substantially larger when open. 

"Craig Macdonald" wrote in message
news:6321772@discussion.autodesk.com...
> I have run directx 9 tests and
found it works but not sure if that is version b or c?? I was using the program
yesterday and began having trouble again with insufficient video memory error
messages causing the program to shut down. The file I am working on is only
about 3mb in size but there is obviously something else that causes this
conflict. In order to provide a somewhat stable work environment I run
Impression 3 on its own without any other programs running, even having MS
Outlook open in the background will cause problems. Again I believe it is time
to upgrade!
> Thanks for your help so far it is good to have someone who
understands the software and hardware issues and requirements, my current IT
support find it difficult to understand my issues and when I take the laptop in
to show them it never seems to play up.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.