Impression

Impression

Reply
Active Contributor
gwunz
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 1 of 12 (5,633 Views)

Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be imported

5633 Views, 11 Replies
07-02-2010 09:07 AM

 

I am attempting to import an autocad drawing into impression.  I have applied the Windows 7 hotfix so the program doesnt crash when attempting to import, it just attempts the import, gets to a certain percentage, and then gives me the error.  I have tried the import on a drawing that worked before upgrading to Windows 7 and same error.  I have attempted to adjust all my import settings as well.  This did not work either.  The only thing that seems to work is if i detach all my xrefs.  any ideas?

rob
New Member
rob
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-22-2010
Message 2 of 12 (5,308 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-22-2010 12:47 PM in reply to: gwunz

Try saving the file as a completely different file name...ie. 1.dwg...it worked on mine...i think it gets confused if you use the same file name multiple times.

Contributor
faugustom
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 3 of 12 (5,282 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-26-2010 07:07 PM in reply to: gwunz

I'm having the same issue with AutoCAD Architecture 2008, Impression 3 and Windows 7.

Renaming the files doesn't solve the problem...

If I create a new file and draw lines, arcs, polylines... and import it into Impression, OK... but if I insert a single block, the import doesn't work anymore...

Active Contributor
gwunz
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-30-2008
Message 4 of 12 (5,275 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

10-27-2010 03:10 AM in reply to: faugustom

The only way I was able to get it to work was by importing on an xp machine.  Once I had it imported, I was then able to open it up on a W7 PC.  Not that this helps you, but it was the only workaround I had.

Valued Contributor
Tudor_Timotin
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎08-30-2005
Message 5 of 12 (5,230 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

11-02-2010 10:59 AM in reply to: gwunz

Hi everyone,

 

I've been battling with the same issue - "file is invalid" when trying to import it in Impression and I think I might have found at least one reason for which it comes up (at least in my case). After a lot of trial and error testing - exploding blocks, moving them on different layers, changing the layer names, merging layers - I narrowed it down to the color of one layer - it wasn't in one of the 255 classic Autocad colors, but in true color. Once I changed that to the basic Acad index color it worked like a charm.

 

Hope it helps someone,

 

I'm using W7 64bit and the export came from Acad 2010

 

Take care,

 

Tudor

Contributor
faugustom
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 6 of 12 (5,203 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

11-04-2010 04:54 PM in reply to: gwunz

That's It! Worked here with "Classic" colors... creating a new .std file right now to convert my drawings!

 

Thank's

New Member
robinsonhall
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2010
Message 7 of 12 (4,996 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

12-21-2010 09:18 AM in reply to: gwunz

Other than the 'fix' below (which doesn't seem to work for me), has anyone found a consistent way to import drawings into Impression 3 on 64bit Windows 7?

 

Seems ridiculous that with a brand new top-spec machine in our office, I'm still having to turn to others to load drawings before I can access them!

 

I've tried resetting layer colours as suggested to no avail. Even if it did work for me, its creating a lot of un-necessary workload.

 

Any patch forthcoming from AutoDesk to fix this issue?

Active Member
ziegler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 8 of 12 (4,389 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 01:06 AM in reply to: robinsonhall

I have the same Problem with Impression 3 importing dwg files from Autocad. Neither color nor rxref trick work here.

 

Win 7 / 64 Bit / ACAD 2010 / Impression 3 / patch applied.

 

Best regards.

 

 

 

New Member
robinsonhall
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2010
Message 9 of 12 (4,387 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 01:50 AM in reply to: gwunz

If its any use, the only advice AutoDesk could offer me via a support ticket request was to save the drawing as a DWF, then import that into Impression.

 

It works - not ideal - but it work.

Active Member
ziegler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-22-2007
Message 10 of 12 (4,378 Views)

Re: Impression 3 w/Civil 3D 2011 and W7 - file invalid error and cannot be impo

03-14-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: robinsonhall

Thanks for your reply, I will try with dwf.

 

Best regards

 

Alexander Ziegler

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!