Impression

Reply
Active Member
mandino
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-05-2007
Message 1 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Importing Issue: Linetypes

1901 Views, 6 Replies
10-01-2008 08:48 AM

When I import my linework from AutoCad into Civil 3d... the linetypes (dashed, hidden, phantom, etc.) are not carried over into Impression. All the linetype are continous instead. I could see this being an issue with hatching if Impression didn't see the dashed lines as a single "connected" line. Is there any way to get the linetypes imported into Impression?

Employee
priwer
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-17-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

10-06-2008 08:44 AM in reply to: mandino
Let me know which specific linetypes aren't coming in, and I can log those as a wishlist.

thanks,
shana
Contributor
brentvos
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

10-14-2008 10:17 AM in reply to: mandino
I've been having a similar problem with importing AutoCAD files into Impression. I've been trying to insert just one of the normal linetypes in (DASHED) for a road display board. I've tried various linetype scales in the drawing before importing to impression but it always becomes a continuous line regardless. I use the default settings for importing and applying different strokes does nothing. I've changed the drawing units anywhere from 1 drawing unit = 1 millimeter to 1 drawing unit = 1 kilometer. Am I missing something completely? It looks okay in AutoCAD (both model and layout views) but just won't go over.

Also, will it be possible in the future to support custom linetypes? I have a couple different dashed paint line linetypes that I'd like to use with impression but at this point that does not appear to be possible.
Distinguished Contributor
C3D_RickGraham
Posts: 975
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

10-21-2008 06:20 AM in reply to: mandino
I'd like to second the request for custom linetypes. We are a Civil firm and do site plan renderings. I need to show treelines which we have in AutoCAD (well civil3D) as a treeline.shx. If anyone has a workaround for respectible looking treelines, I'd like to hear from you.

Rick
Thanks,
Rick
coauthor Mastering Civil 3D 2012
I blog at http://simplycivil3d.wordpress.com
Contributor
brentvos
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

10-27-2008 12:26 PM in reply to: mandino
A possible workaround would be to make a tree line linetype block, ie. One segment of the linetype. Insert the block into the drawing along the tree line using the MEASURE command to array it along the tree line at a set interval. Impression should be able to read the line of blocks, and if not use a generic block and then use the block replacement in Impression to get a nice looking tree line. Hope that works! I'm about to do the same for paint lines on roads, since I can't figure out why dashed lines won't work.
Valued Contributor
sturner7277
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 6 of 7 (1,901 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

11-12-2008 08:41 AM in reply to: mandino
when you import the dwg set your stroke to 'none'
-Sean
------------------------------------------------------------------
Just a CAD Manager for a Civil Engineering firm...
Win 7 pro 12gb
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
LDD 2009
IDS 2014
Member
deric
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-31-2005
Message 7 of 7 (1,834 Views)

Re: Importing Issue: Linetypes

08-23-2010 12:59 PM in reply to: mandino

I use a lot of custom text linetypes.  To work around this issue, I export my file to a DWF and then open the DWF in Impression3.  It breaks the linetypes into lines/text, but at least my text is still there.  See if that will work for you.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.