Can we get the Uses and Where Used tabs to remember collapsed / expanded state. When selecting a new file, the tabs are shown in an expanded state. 99% of the time I only need to see one level, rather than all levels
This is something else that seems like a bit of an after thought... I'm going to predict this won't be voted up as a tiny minority of Vault users will ever use this area of the software, but it's rubbish and needs improving, so here goes:
1) A GUI for editing the email template is required. The email sent out by notification is extremely user unfriendly, unsightly, unprofessional and it would make the world of difference if this could be editable. I don't mean an Autodesk controlled level of customisation either, I mean provide full HTML editing capability with the option of including property information and hyperlink control.
2) When adding additional recipients into the email notification, this needs to reference active directory. There's no reason why it can't. When I want to add someone within my organisation to the email list, I shouldn't have to type in their full email address "email@example.com".
3) A tick box option to control whether or not an email is sent on a specific ECO transition, rather than a black & white it's on or off setting which is currently how it works. Most people only give a toot about the ECO being raised, they don't really need to be told every time it moves from one state to the next. I get that this is to prompt someone that work is to be done, but more flexibility would be nice.
Folder and lifecycle state security is a useful feature, but it can be really hard to use. For example, it's hard to find out which users have access to which folders. Likewise if a user doesn't have access, it can be hard to figure out why. If you are managing many folders, you are forced to manage them one at a time.
One possible improvement to provide a view like in the Effective Folder Permissions app, which unrolls the security settings to show a per-user view.
Can we please be a little more descriptive in the error messages?
I get a message that tells me I cannot move a specific file in the vault from one location to another.
The message reads "File Cannot be moved" looking at the details it says "File could not be moved due to vault error"
Really? Why couldn't it have explained to the detail of saying one of the factory files was checked out causing this file not to be moved. This is just one example. I would like to see all messages be a little more descriptive.
Side note. I would like to see less messages as well. That is more of how the software is written though.
I would like Vault to manage external iLogic rules that are called by Inventor ipts/iams/idws.
These rules are programming code that can affect model geometry, iproperties and drawing views. External rules are saved out to a directory visible to the Inventor project file. By placing them in a directory, it is very easy to share them among different Inventor files and users. If an external rule is edited and re-run on the Inventor file, the Inventor file will change.
Users can add the external rules to Vault using the stand-alone client, but the Inventor Vault Add-in does not see the dependency between the external rules and the Inventor file. If another user, possibly at a remote site, downloads the Inventor file from vault, Vault does not know to bring the external rules too. Users must remember to grab the latest copy of the external rule directory.
Vault should track these file dependencies. The rule files should be subject to the same revision and lifecycle control as any other file in Vault. Users should be able to perform all of the typical Vault commands on these files from the Inventor browser.
As it currently stands it is not possible to delete users and groups within Autodesk Vault.
This is a problem. I understand Autodesk's stance on that the users need to be retained for historical reasons, however the management side of things needs to be improved.
For example I created a group and users that were never used. Why can't I delete them? Objects that were never used should be allowed to be deleted. Also as the database grows and users are hired and terminated, the list will grow to an unmanageable mess.
What has happened to me is that I am in the middle of implementing Vault for my company. When I first set it up I created users. However, since then we have switched to a Domain and have now imported the Domain users and groups to use. Now I have groups and users that have never been used that I have no way of deleting or using for anything else.
I have found blogs and forum posts suggesting that users be diabled and renamed so that they are sorted appropriately. This is a hack solution at best and not a real solution to the problem.
As I see it two things need to happen:
1. Unused users and groups need to be allowed to be deleted.
2. There needs to be additional options and sorting methods for used users and groups that are no longer active. ie. Once they are disabled they are moved to a different list and only retained for historical purposes.
I believe Vault should allow a user somehow to be able to move files from different folders into a similar folder all at once. It would be convenient to conduct a search and be able to move all the related files into a folder of choice. Right now Vault has a restriction where you can only move files that are in the same folder. This might be a difficult request for Vault to accomplish, but I think would be well worth it. Please consider.