I've known this issue has existed from about day one in Productstream and now Vault Pro, but it's time that this security issue is fixed. I feel its a major defect, but they tell me it's "AS DESIGNED".
If you are using items, this has the potential to be costly to your organization. It allows users to print an older version of a file which has been revised and it still shows the water mark of "RELEASED". All without any kind of warning.
We are dealing with items and when an item has several revisions and you toggle back thru the revisions, the drawings linked to that revision still have a water mark of released, even though the drawing is an old - revised drawing.
The attached video illustrates this disaster waiting to happen.
There has to be a way to prevent the printing of older drawings with "RELEASED" on them. The water mark should say "VOIDED Drawing" or the like when a user toggles the revision level back. Any guidance here on how to fix this issue?
This is quite an annoying issue. I've created several Search Folders in Vault, which contain pretty complex search-parameters. Every time we migrate to a newer version of Vault (almost every year) I have to manually 'redesign' these search criteria... FOR EACH WORKSTATION THAT USES VAULT in our company!
It would be a great improvement of Vault Basic to incorporate a tool/function to export/backup AND import the search folders. Can't imagine other users don't think the same.
As it currently stands it is not possible to delete users and groups within Autodesk Vault.
This is a problem. I understand Autodesk's stance on that the users need to be retained for historical reasons, however the management side of things needs to be improved.
For example I created a group and users that were never used. Why can't I delete them? Objects that were never used should be allowed to be deleted. Also as the database grows and users are hired and terminated, the list will grow to an unmanageable mess.
What has happened to me is that I am in the middle of implementing Vault for my company. When I first set it up I created users. However, since then we have switched to a Domain and have now imported the Domain users and groups to use. Now I have groups and users that have never been used that I have no way of deleting or using for anything else.
I have found blogs and forum posts suggesting that users be diabled and renamed so that they are sorted appropriately. This is a hack solution at best and not a real solution to the problem.
As I see it two things need to happen:
1. Unused users and groups need to be allowed to be deleted.
2. There needs to be additional options and sorting methods for used users and groups that are no longer active. ie. Once they are disabled they are moved to a different list and only retained for historical purposes.