Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wooden chair production process?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
AvihooI
1420 Views, 10 Replies

Wooden chair production process?

I'm personally not a mechnical engineering or a manufacturing process engineering student, nor a carpenter of sort - my field is software engineering, which is why I have very little knowledge when it comes to taking a design and turning it into a workable schematic/drawing so that it can be manufactured in the real world.

I have recently designed this: https://fusion360.autodesk.com/projects/simple-chair-design

Is it feasible to take this design and turn it into something a traditional carpenter can use to create a real world chair? I am assuming it would involve spliting the body to several parts, and for each create a toolpath so that they can be milled... then I'm guessing a carpenter can glue them together.

Is there anyone who specializes in this who can give some ideas/tips?

I'm doing this as a hobby - perhaps build one or two of those chairs to be had at home, not for some mass production line, therefore a super efficient manufacturing process is not required. I am guessing it's more like prototyping in a way.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: AvihooI

@AvihooI wrote:

I'm personally not a mechnical engineering or a manufacturing process engineering student, nor a carpenter of sort - my field is software engineering, which is why I have very little knowledge when it comes to taking a design and turning it into a workable schematic/drawing so that it can be manufactured in the real world.

I have recently designed this: https://fusion360.autodesk.com/projects/simple-chair-design