Reply
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Accepted Solution

Import Parts

424 Views, 12 Replies
06-07-2013 03:12 PM

Is there a way to start importing design into another design? If I have sub-assembly projects that are used in multiple larger projects how would I place those assemblies or even basic parts into a project?

 

 



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
Oceanconcepts
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎03-28-2013

Re: Import Parts

06-07-2013 03:34 PM in reply to: Royce_adsk

This is one of the less obvious parts of  the interface.  You need to know what you called the other assembly you want to use.  Click on the little magnifying glass at the top right of the window.  A text entry field will appear.  Start typing in the name and the list of matching files will appear, select the one you want and it will import. It works well, unless like me you forget what you called something.  You do need to have the part you want to import saved as a separate file, I don't think you can grab an element from another file, as with copy and paste.

 

Ron

- Ron

27" iMac Core i5, OS 10.9.4, 8GB RAM
Please use plain text.
Alumni
kat.ingalls
Posts: 263
Registered: ‎03-04-2013

Re: Import Parts

06-10-2013 09:40 AM in reply to: Oceanconcepts

Thanks, Ron! Royce, did that answer your question?

Kat

Fusion 360 Social & Community Manager
twitter: @adskFusion360
facebook: /fusion360
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Import Parts

06-10-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: kat.ingalls

Agree that it isn't the most obvious, but once you know it is there it seems to work fairly smooth.

 

I would think at some point users will want to have some sort of browse option since forgetting the name will probably be common for some users as you said :-)

 

One thing I did discover is that I can do a 'Save Copy as' to a sub-assembly or part so that I can import that specific section into another assembly.  Cool stuff.



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Employee
haughec
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-24-2012

Re: Import Parts

06-20-2013 03:21 PM in reply to: Royce_adsk

I agree that we should provide browse in addition to search when inserting components.  We're looking into this.  FYI - the next release of Fusion 360 will offer a "Place" command in the Assemble menu to place components.

 

You can also copy/paste components from one design to another, though the Paste workflow isn't very clear at the moment.  To paste into a separate design, you must select a component in the browser, right-click and select "Paste New".  Ideally, you should be able to just right-click in the screen and select Paste.  I'll see if we can address this.

 

Thanks

Charles Haughey
Fusion 360 User Experience Designer
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Import Parts

08-03-2013 06:28 PM in reply to: Oceanconcepts

I cannot see this "magnifying glass" anywhere, has the workflow changed?

 

If not, can we have a screen shot please?

Please use plain text.
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 670
Registered: ‎04-05-2003

Re: Import Parts

08-03-2013 08:19 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

 

The place command is on the assemble pane 

2013-08-03 08.16.23 pm.png

 

Then you can type a name to search your data to insert.

2013-08-03 08.16.42 pm.png

 

Browse is coming in a future update. Hopefully September.

 

 

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Please use plain text.
Alumni
kat.ingalls
Posts: 263
Registered: ‎03-04-2013

Re: Import Parts

08-05-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: big_red_frog

Did the screenshot help? What're you working on currently?

Kat

Fusion 360 Social & Community Manager
twitter: @adskFusion360
facebook: /fusion360
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
tdtwohy
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎03-29-2013

Re: Import Parts

08-06-2013 01:45 AM in reply to: kat.ingalls

 

It helped ME!!

Dang, Place! Imma use this MOFO till it HURTS, logos?... text?... illustrations? ... it's ON!!


BOOM! :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Import Parts

08-06-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: kat.ingalls

Thanks for this, now I know where it is "hidden"

 

Appreciating the whole design browsing is due a rework...

Please use plain text.