Hardware (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Workstation or consumer desktop for AutoCAD 2013?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
its_cconner
9649 Views, 9 Replies

Workstation or consumer desktop for AutoCAD 2013?

The question posed is not the exact question but is simple enough for a subject line. For background we work with mainly 2D and on rare occasion 3D drawings. We are working in a networked office now making use of Vault Pro 2013. I work in the telecommunications field and in charge of keeping track of all the outlets and cable pathway inside and outside hundreds of buildings. I don't want to go into to much detail regarding the poor organization of information prior to my arrival but lets say they really needed a dedicated draftsperson.

I was asked to put together a quote for a true workstation since I've been asking for it for two years since I started. The first computer they gave me in 2010 was a P4 with 4 gigs of ram and a stock video card which I quickly bogged down to an unusable state while drafting. They told me they would get me a true workstation and I received a Dell Optiplex 960 SFF. It has a Core2 Duo processor, a 256MB ATI consumer video card, 250GB HD and 8GB ram. While it ran AutoCAD I personally didn't feel it ran it well and at times menus and layers would disappear visually unless I hovered the mouse over the area it should be at and even then not all the time. I was able to upgrade my video card after a year of complaints to a FirePro V3900 because it was the only card I could find that would fit in my Small Form Factor case and while it runs better I will still have issues with my system seeming to lag and menus disappearing but much much less than it had in the past. Of course 3D drawings still slow my machine to a learning to crawl state and I am forced to save after any modification to the drawing just to be safe.

Almost to my question..