Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laptop for AutoCAD (modeling and rendering) & Revit

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
saraedith
848 Views, 3 Replies

Laptop for AutoCAD (modeling and rendering) & Revit

I'm considering this laptop for AutoCAD (especially modeling and rendering {until I move on to another high-end modeling/rendering program . . .  but sometime in future}) AND Revit. I'm a student and this seems the best I can do within my budget (about $1,000). My main concern is will these programs work without strange reactions to this configuration? Or, is there something I should ask for instead . . . ? Feedback is appreciated - thanks!

Dell XPS 17
Item 225-0587

2nd generation Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM processor 2.00 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 2.90 GHz

8GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3 Memory

Standard Keyboard - English

17.3" FHD (1080p) with 2.0MP HD Webcam

NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 550M 1GB graphics with Optimus

750GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive

Elemental Silver Aluminum

Genuine Windows® Home Premium, 64-Bit, English

Integrated 10/100/1000 Network Card

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader

Tray Load Blu-ray Disc BD-Combo (Reads BD and Writes to DVD/CD)

JBL 2.1 Speakers with Waves Maxx Audio 3

Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 1000

Microsoft® Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word & Excel w/ ads. No PowerPoint or Outlook

McAfee SecurityCenter, 15-Months

56 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery

1 Year In-Home Service after Remote Diagnosis

DataSafe 2.0 Online Backup 2GB for 1 year

No Mobile Broad Band Selected

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
OMCUSNR
in reply to: saraedith

Looks like a good laptop for what you want.

What's the cost on this one?  If you could lower the cost, you don't need that big a hard drive (400 to 500 is enough), & you don't need a bluray device (how many movies you plan on watching going to school?).   Dump the Office stuff, and the McAfee.  Get a student edition of  Student edition office.  Use Kaspersky.