Intel Q35 Chipset

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
OlorinFiresky
2980 Views, 13 Replies

Intel Q35 Chipset

Hi there,

I'm new to the AutoCAD world.  We are currently trying to test our current equipment with AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011.  One of our machines has the Intel Q35 chipset and the video doesn't seem to have any supported drivers from Autodesk's side of the equation.

I guess my question is, how much importance is there on having Autodesk tested hardware?  Are there any significant performance advantages?  Should I be concerned that this particular piece of equipment doesn't appear to be supported?

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
TravisNave
in reply to: OlorinFiresky

For 3D, it's pretty significant.  If you start having graphical anomolies and crashing, it will likely be due to this.  You will want to make sure your system meets or exceeds the Autodesk requirements for the software along with a certified driver. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                                             Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

My Expert Contributions to the
Autodesk Forums:
FLEXnet License Admin | MSI Cleanup Utility | .NET Framework Cleanup Tool | IPv6 NLM Fix | adskflex.opt Options File | Combine .LIC Files
Message 3 of 14
seskinner

I wouldn't be concerned if you have no performance issues. I used to buy Dell Precisions with Xeon processors and AD certified graphics cards at $5000 each and found that a $1500 gaming machine with GeForce graphics out-performed them. I'm disappointed in Dell and Autodesk for selling and recommending unneeded hardware. All the new consumer graphic chips support Open GL and Direct X, so don't waste money on workstation-grade hardware.

I now use:

i7 960 @ 3.2 GHz

Win 7 x64

12 GB 3 channel RAM 667MHz

GeForce GTX 260

Velociraptor HD

~$3000

Message 4 of 14
OlorinFiresky
in reply to: seskinner