Hardware

Reply
Member
oom dagobert
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 1 of 6 (110 Views)

configuration for CAD

110 Views, 5 Replies
09-06-2008 06:14 AM
Is this configuration suitable for CAD (autocad 2008, Revit, 3Dstudiomax, photoshop CS3)?

Latitude E6500:
- intel core 2 duo T9400 (2.53 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 6Mb)
- memory: 2x2048, 800MHz DDR2 dual channel
- 256MB NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160M Graphic Card
- 15.4" WXGA (1440x900)

Thanks
TR
*A+P
Message 2 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: configuration for CAD

09-06-2008 08:31 AM in reply to: oom dagobert
Check out the Autodesk website to make sure your Graphics card is compliant:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/hc?siteID=123112&id=6711853&linkID=9240618

I would also add another 2GB to your 2GB.

I assume you're going to get a huge hard drive like over 300GB?

Paul


"oom dagobert" wrote in message news:6025009@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Is this configuration suitable for CAD (autocad 2008, Revit, 3Dstudiomax,
> photoshop CS3)?
>
> Latitude E6500:
> - intel core 2 duo T9400 (2.53 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 6Mb)
> - memory: 2x2048, 800MHz DDR2 dual channel
> - 256MB NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160M Graphic Card
> - 15.4" WXGA (1440x900)
>
> Thanks
> TR
*George Drayton
Message 3 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: configuration for CAD

09-06-2008 01:28 PM in reply to: oom dagobert
I would prefer a modest size fast hard disk rather than the traditional
s-l-o-w ones. The display is rather on the "low-resolution" side. Some
modesl have 1650 x 1050 or thereabouts. Real nice ones have 1920 x
1200! 900 pixels for height is very low unless you plan to run it on
an external monitor IMHO

George Drayton CD-CAD Ltd Christchurch New Zealand
Member
oom dagobert
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 4 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: configuration for CAD

09-09-2008 11:11 AM in reply to: oom dagobert
Thanks for the information
For the hard disk, I'll take a small one (120 GB) in combination with a huge external hard disk. The programs on the small one and all my files on the external one. They said, this will go much faster than only a huge (internal) hard disk (and no external).
TR
*A+P
Message 5 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: configuration for CAD

09-09-2008 03:30 PM in reply to: oom dagobert
Just remember to establish some kind of backup regiment on your data sitting
on the external hard driven.

Paul

"oom dagobert" wrote in message news:6027137@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Thanks for the information
> For the hard disk, I'll take a small one (120 GB) in combination with a
> huge external hard disk. The programs on the small one and all my files on
> the external one. They said, this will go much faster than only a huge
> (internal) hard disk (and no external).
> TR
Distinguished Contributor
rdswords
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎05-15-2007
Message 6 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: configuration for CAD

09-10-2008 06:54 AM in reply to: oom dagobert
You really should try to get more vertical resolution (900 pixels just isn't going to cut it). Also, I wouldn't touch the NVS series graphics cards unless they were forced on me by IT (which has happened). Unless they have changed, they don't actually have 3D hardware acceleration. Also, I remember the NVS cards having a "feature" where the card would come with a small amount of onboard RAM, and then it would grab the same amount of your system RAM. Then this doubled value would be what was advertised in the promotional material for the card.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.