Hardware

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 5 (1,013 Views)

AutoCAD Civil 3D Nvidia Quadro FX Driver

1013 Views, 4 Replies
09-16-2010 11:28 AM

In the release notes of all the current and archived Nvidia drivers, for a Quadro FX 4600 card and Win XP Pro, contain "AutoCAD 2009 SP2/SP3–the application crashes with recent OpenGL drivers".

 

What would be the correct Nvidia drivers to be using with 2009 SP3 when using OpenGL? I do have the performance drivers installed but don't know if that makes a difference.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (998 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D Nvidia Quadro FX Driver

09-17-2010 11:02 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

That's a good question. Autodesk has stopped specifically certifying individual drivers.  I think they're current stance is that if the driver is WHQL certified, then it is certified to run their products.  I'd say just go get the latest WQHL driver from nvidia.com and give it a go. 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 5 (993 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D Nvidia Quadro FX Driver

09-17-2010 11:16 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Nvidia has also stopped packaging the AutoCAD performance drivers with the standard drivers. I do have on of the latest drivers for my card and OS. I've been having a few problems and that's what started me poking around.

 

I've finally got our IT to agree to put Window 7 on my workstation, rather than XP. It's being purchased now. So I'll just bumble along until that happens and IT gets it installed. Then I'll install the latest and hopefully get around to deploying C3D 2011.

 

My computer isn't 64 bit but I'm sure that Win 7 will make a difference.

 

Thanks

Allen

Mentor
namssurt
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 4 of 5 (971 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D Nvidia Quadro FX Driver

09-20-2010 04:50 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Without 64 bits you are unlikely to see any advantage, and may in fact see a performance drop. XP is faster, just less secure. 64 bits help compensate since you will gain from having the larger memory space. Maybe more than you lost, maybe less, depending on a multitude of other factors such as what hardware and software you use as well as your network configuration.

jg
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 5 (970 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D Nvidia Quadro FX Driver

09-20-2010 05:24 AM in reply to: namssurt

Yes. I know. It's a juggling act. I'd love a 64-bit system, but that's not going to happen. I was surprised they even went for the OS. All I know is that all the machines I'm running XP on are slowing down. Even my Sager Laptop (Portable Workstation), which was always a fast computer.

 

Of course the ESET antivirus software that IT runs is about as bad as a Virus it's self. It takes a huge amount or resources.

 

I don't think the Novel network has too much to do with it. I don't notice any improvement if I work off my HDD. I thought at one point I was having memory problems. But the memory tests out OK.

 

Allen

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.