Community
Showcase Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Showcase Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Showcase topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Showcase Walk Through

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
devin
3173 Views, 12 Replies

Showcase Walk Through

Hello all. I'm very new to Showcase. I am just trying to create a walk through. I click on "EDIT" > "WALK ZONE" > "MAKE WALK ZONE". So after Showcase does this. How exactly do I view this walk through? I can't find any tutorials on this. Am I missing a step somewhere?

Thanks.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
cikho
in reply to: devin

actually you quite misunderstood the function of the walk zone 🙂

let me try to explain:

the walkzone it's defined by a surface. in fact it limits the camera movement, confing it inot the boundaries of this surface. it also changes the way arrow up/down and left/right keys works..

in the standard setup up/down is the zoom while right/left is the camera turn around pivot.

when a walk zone is set, up/down simulates a walk ahead and back, while right and left.. well.. you got it i guess 🙂

this is supposed to let you move as a first person game..

tu turn the camera around you can use this function combined to the lookaround camera tool you find in the bar on the right (the icon looks like a double curved arrow).

the surface defines the boundaries inside which these controls can be used, and links the camera eight to a certain value in order to simulate the user's eight.. not sure where this can be set tho.

so, basically if you go ahead in a certain direction, as it would happen in a FPS game, once you reach the border of the walkzone surface the camera will stop moving.. like the user was bouncing into a virtual wall starting from the surface boundarie.

so, the walkzone does not automatically create a "walkthrough" animation, but let's you move around as you were actually "moving through" your environment.