Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's your profession (Designer vs Engineer?)

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
kat.ingalls
1292 Views, 12 Replies

What's your profession (Designer vs Engineer?)

Wondering what the demographic is here.
Are you a Designer? Engineer? Business-owner? Pro Maker? 3D artist? Student? ....some type of hybrid?

As for me, I majored in MechE and definitely love technology. But I feel both my interests and way of thinking both more in line with the way designers work. I think there's a lot of overlap in these disciplines. Engineers, makers, designers, entrepreneurs - I identify with all of them. We all love problem solving. And so I guess if I had to label myself, it'd be "problem-solver." 😉

Kat

Fusion 360 Social & Community Manager
twitter: @adskFusion360
facebook: /fusion360
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
cekuhnen
in reply to: kat.ingalls

I very much agree with your "Overlap" opinion.

I have an undergraduate in color design with a focus on graphic object and interactive design. And for my masters I studied jewelry design and digital animation. In my work I pull from each discipline when ideas, concepts, research methods, creativity, or modeling workflows can be applied.

I am very happy to see AutoDesk focusing on T-Splines. I encountered many mature designers who think this is not usable for product design because nobody (they know of course) uses it.

I very much love to learn new technology and methodologies and that curisity and experimentation in workflows is also what I teach my students in my design classes.

This is actually interesting to see that now the software platform for engineers and desigers grows together being one language instead of two.

Claas Kuhnen