Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strategies for creating centered, symmetric, or mirrored sketch geometry

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
zandernosler
1376 Views, 1 Reply

Strategies for creating centered, symmetric, or mirrored sketch geometry

I'm new to Fusion360 (and all autocad products) but am an old user of SolidDesigner, Pro-E, Alias, and Solid Works, and my biggest frustration with Fusion is how hard it is to create centered or symmetric geometries in the sketcher.

Noodling around it seems that the order of how thigns are drawn is important - is this true? I started laying down X-Y construction lines first, "fixing" them, then building geometry from there, but i find the constraint tool very hard to use - would love to start a thread with others' ideas for creating in the sketcher. Some topics, as examples:

- how to make a 2 x 2 lego "cube" with bumps on all sides

- how to construct a reverse "T" slot that as it get's tweaked for fit stays centered on the centerlines of the rectangluar surface on which it's built:Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 2.22.58 PM.png

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2

I  am not qualified to comment much on the differences between the Fusion approach and, say Solid Works- though many here would be able to. My perception is that in Fusion you really don’t need to define things so fully in sketching- you can move more quickly to solids or surfaces and establish relationships there. There is an underlying difference in the workflow. I don’t think the order of drawing is that important, but I might not be understanding what you are seeing.