Area :: Header
3ds Max 2015 Extension 1 is here

With new tools to power your pipeline
Discussion Groups

General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

SP2 Interface Flickers

56 Views, 13 Replies
11-10-2012 06:21 PM
Anyone have Composite 2013 SP2 the interface flicker when starting it up ?
Please use plain text.
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

11-14-2012 06:22 PM in reply to: FalconCrest
I see that composite is a dying app, most have abandoned. I'll resort back to After Effects for compositing.
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 18,731
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

11-15-2012 02:43 AM in reply to: FalconCrest
To answer your initial question, no - I see no flickering at all from the point of clicking the shortcut to the point where Composite (SP2 - x64) is fully loaded and ready.

Is your graphics card up to the job? Fully updated drivers?
At least post your system specs - preferably in your sig so we don't have to constantly ask for them.

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

11-18-2012 04:00 PM in reply to: FalconCrest
To answer your initial question, no - I see no flickering at all from the point of clicking the shortcut to the point where Composite (SP2 - x64) is fully loaded and ready.

Is your graphics card up to the job? Fully updated drivers?
At least post your system specs - preferably in your sig so we don't have to constantly ask for them.


Graphic card drivers are up to date. The system is up to speed, as well. It is bizarre, I never had this problem with previous Composite updates.
Please use plain text.
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-09-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: FalconCrest


I hope this image demonstrates, what I meant by flicker. When I go to a menu item, the about composite is showing up simultaneously. This happens throughout the program, even at start up, the composite welcome screen is partially showing though while the program loads.

(I hope the image size is ok, I read a rule on this, but forgot, not sure if it applies or not)
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 18,731
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-10-2012 01:43 AM in reply to: FalconCrest
Images are better attached - large ones like that mess with the forum formatting. No-one likes having to scroll sideways to read the text of your post (part of which is offscreen). Plus, it takes longer to display the thread (due to the size of the image) than when attached as the initial display is essentially a large-ish thumbnail of the image which fits the page width correctly.

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-10-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: FalconCrest
Ah, that's what I thought before posting :smileyhappy: Sorry, should have listened to myself :smileyhappy: Thanks for the tip :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 18,731
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-10-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: FalconCrest
Failing to listen to yourself is one thing, talking to yourself in the the first place is somewhat more worrying :smileywink:

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
morazz
Posts: 897
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-10-2012 08:30 PM in reply to: FalconCrest
I would like to know what graphics card you are using? Can you confirm this is a card and driver that is support by this current version of Composite? I have seen similar stuff like this in the past, and they where always driver/ GFX card issues.

Composite will not work with all consumer based cards.

cheers
Mark Rasmussen
VFX - Supervisor | Compositor
Enigma|FX

TOXIK/Composite BLOG
http://enigmafx.ca/efxblog
Please use plain text.
Mentor
FalconCrest
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎04-07-2012

Re: SP2 Interface Flickers

12-11-2012 05:25 PM in reply to: FalconCrest
Geforce 680.
Please use plain text.