Area :: Header
New updates to
Autodesk Character Generator
Learn More!
Discussion Groups

General Discussion

Reply
Member
jens.brandenburg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

04-30-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: jgalvezpa_1
Come on Autodesk. Mudbox is one of the main reasons I'd purchase one of those new Tablets. Pretty please with a cherry on top?

Incidentally, Zbrush probably works a treat.
Please use plain text.
New Member
Bluecraney
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2013

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

07-21-2013 08:18 PM in reply to: walker.troy.s

so if im in the same boat im sol

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Please use plain text.
New Member
sergiokokou
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2013

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

09-09-2013 08:48 AM in reply to: reallyimmaturenick
nvadia makes the best gpus, no doubt about that..
Please use plain text.
New Member
Bluecraney
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2013

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

09-09-2013 04:05 PM in reply to: sergiokokou
Ernest craney iii

Bluecraney gameing
Bluecraney@gmail.com

Docucraft
Docucraftmcserver@gmail.com
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite* | Moderator
cg_oglu
Posts: 2,989
Registered: ‎08-22-2006

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

09-16-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: Bluecraney

Mudbox 2014 Extension

 

Mudbox supports the third and fourth generation Intel® Core processors with integrated Intel® HD Graphics (2500, 4000, 4600, 5000, and so on). This support lets artists to use Mudbox on devices with Intel® HD Graphics, such as MacBook Air and Windows 8 tablet.

To make the Intel® HD Graphics available on Windows, before running Mudbox, update the graphics driver to the latest driver version 15.31.9.3165 (9.18.10.3165).

----------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/christoph-schaedl/6/558/73b
Please use plain text.
Active Member
sweitz
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-04-2005

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

10-12-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: jens.brandenburg

Just adding on to this last response: according to Autodesk's hardware wizard, Mudox 2014 will run on Intel HD P4000 and Intel HD P4600 (which are near-identical to the Intel HD 4000 and Intel HD 4600 - as far as I can tell, the "P" designation is generally used on Xeons - http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/guides/performance-xeon-e3-1200-hd-graph...

 

Here's a confirmation of the P4000 completely qualified for Mudbox:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert/card?siteID=123112&catID=18254205&id=18844534&product=9...

 

You might need to set the Environment Variable listed in that post to disable the graphic check to get it to run, though.

 

No word on the 3000, though... but the good news for anyone interested is that the Surface Pro uses an Intel HD 4000 - so Mudbox should work on that. In other words, nice scultping on the go, with either ZBrush or Mudbox ; )

 

I'll be trying it out with the Intel HD 4400 as soon as I get my Surface Pro 2 tablet... will respond if there are issues.

Please use plain text.
New Member
msolly2
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-19-2013

Re: Running autodesk mudbox 2013 on intel HD graphics 3000

10-28-2013 07:14 PM in reply to: cg_oglu

Forgive my ignorance but I updated my MS Surface Pro driver to 9.18.10.3165 as listed above for the Intel HD 4000 but Mudbox 2014 still gives me the message that it needs the ATI or NVIDIA graphics.

 

What other special trick did you use to get Mudbox 2014 working on the Surface Pro?

 

Thanks

-Mark

Please use plain text.
Active Member
sweitz
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-04-2005

Re: Running Autodesk Mudbox 2013 on Intel HD graphics 3000

10-29-2013 07:37 PM in reply to: jens.brandenburg

When I first posted about Mudbox working with Intel HD 4000, I didn't have a Surface Pro, yet - I was just going on what the qualification charts on Autodesk's site said. I got my Surface Pro 2 today, though, and installed Mudbox, so I can give a little better advice.

 

A regular installation, including SP1, does not run, as you said. However, after installing the Mudbox Extension (I am pretty sure you need to have a subscription to get the extension), it opened fine, without any errors... but, it crashes every time I try to load a model (all I've tried loading so far are the default models, like human head or a simple plane - which crash the program). I am going to try and figure that part out tomorrow, since I see no reason why it would open fine, without errors, then crash as soon as I try to do anything. There are plenty of references to Intel HD working with Mudbox 2014 in the notes for the Extension (and Intel HD is fully qualified), so it shouldn't crash like this. I am guessing there is a solution to this somewhere...

 

Anyway, to get it opening at least, if you don't have access to the extension , try adding in the environment variable listed on the link from my previous post. The variable is: MUDBOX2011_SKIP_GRAPHICS_CHECK

 

This disables the graphics card check and, in theory, will allow Mudbox to open without the Extension. Since the extension worked for me, I haven't tried the environment variable, though, so I am not sure if it works or not.

 

I will respond again once I find out how to get it to stop crashing...

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
RICKRODRIGUEZ5808
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎08-19-2006

Re: Running Autodesk Mudbox 2013 on Intel HD graphics 3000

10-30-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: sweitz
I'm having the same issue with Mudbox 2014 Extension and the Surface Pro 1 and 2. The program will load, but it will hang the moment I try to load a mesh. The drivers installed with Windows 8.1 are the latest version available. Where do we report crash bugs to Autodesk?
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 18,920
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: Running Autodesk Mudbox 2013 on Intel HD graphics 3000

10-30-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: RICKRODRIGUEZ5808
Help > Report a problem. Or http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?id=12331406&siteID=123112

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.