Flame Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Flame Family (Flame, Flare, Flame Assist, Lustre) Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Flame topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mounting a windows share on Linux Red Hat...

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1137 Views, 5 Replies

Mounting a windows share on Linux Red Hat...

Hi folks,

I'm brand new to Linux, so please bear with me.  I need to mount a windows NFS shared folder on my Flame system.  I am entering this basic string in the console to accomplish this, and I think I'm close, but am wondering if I have the protocol correct.l..ie,. all the spaces and commas and such are correct, as well as the calls.  Anyone familiar see a problem here?  Anything missing?  Any help would be greatly appreciated...

# mount -t cifs -o username=<username> , password=<password> , domain=<domain name> //<WIN PC IP>/<sharename>/mnt

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Beau_James
in reply to: Anonymous

Shannon, long time no talk 😉

take the spaces out before the commas

put a space between the share and your mount point.  So instaed of <sharename>/mnt make it <sharename> /mnt.

Also, don't mount to /mnt.  make a directory in /mnt and mount to there like mkdir -m 777 -p /mnt/samba

and mount to /mnt/samba

let me know if that works.  if not i'll look over the string a little more and see if I see an issue with your info.  Also, what error are you getting.

Also...https://access.redhat.com/solutions/448263

Beau

Message 3 of 6
ManChicken

As Beau says, yours should look more like:

mkdir /mnt/sharename

mount -t cifs -o username=foo,password=bar,domain=blah //winservername/sharename /mnt/sharename

filling in all the foo/bar/blah/winservername/sharename as approriate.