Flame Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Flame Family (Flame, Flare, Flame Assist, Lustre) Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Flame topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flame in the Future...

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
vfxjokir
443 Views, 5 Replies

Flame in the Future...

Hello all- I've been using Flame on and off for more than 10 years, and have always been a bit frustrated with how Autodesk "thinks" about how compositors work.

I'm a big fan of the new 20th Anniversary edition - while the new UI might be a bit confusing, and the keyboard shortcuts have become very "Mac" like - I'm glad to see all the excellent conform and editing tools finally available with the brilliant Reels and Batch environment - a true merge of Smoke and Flame!

I'm also a long time Nuke user - and frankly, I find the actual COMPOSITING environment in Nuke much more conducive to working on VFX shots. Nuke is completely lacking an integrated contextual timeline and editing environment, as well as a robust video I/O system - it's VERY much designed for working on a single shot or element of a sequence, and can't be easily set up to send playback to an external monitor for client presentation / revision. But all that being said - when I'm working on a shot in Nuke, EVERY element and process that goes into that shot is available to me in the node tree - nothing is "hidden" inside of an Action node, or pre-rendered/comped with a Desktop tool.

Since Batch is now so "immediate" in Flame 2013/20 and CFX existing in Smoke For Mac 2013 (SMAC 2013) - I've been wondering- do we really need Action anymore?